Answering the fan mail…

Well I’ve had my first request. More information about the recipes that got me to a $60 grocery bill. I should note here that the store was missing a few ingredients so I’m not quite finished yet, and I had some of the ingredients already, so I obviously didn’t buy them, but nonetheless – pretty good!

Meal 1: Italian Stew with Butternut Squash and Chickpeas.

Ratings:
Me – Tasty and Super Healthy so Good
The Boy – “I don’t like the texture of chickpeas… but it’s okay and I could eat it once a month. Throw some meat in here and I’d really like it!” (I’ll take once a month with no meat)

Source: Moosewood Restaurant Cooking for Health

This recipe was SO easy. One of the easiest parts about it was I already had 2 cups of butternut squash cut up in the freezer!

3 cups chopped onions
2 tbsp olive oil
salt

Cook the onions until they are almost carmelized on medium heat – 12-15 minutes

1/2 tsp Ground Carrdomon Seed
6 cloves garlic minced
1/2 tsp dried thyme
ground black pepper

Stir into the onions to coat

Add:
2 cups water
1 can diced tomatoes
1 can drained chickpeas
2 cups pealed and diced butternut squash
1 cup diced carrots
1 cup diced bell pepper

Cook for 15 minutes or so… until the squash is cooked

Add:
5 cups (I used one bunch) chopped kale – make sure to remove the stems – they’re bitter and gross.

Cook until kale is wilted down – about 10 minutes

Add:
2 tsp red wine vinegar
1 tbsp chopped fresh basil

Mix in serve hot.

We had it on it’s own just with toast, but Moosewood also suggests you can serve over rice or quinoa. I didn’t understand this when I was making it – (isn’t it stew? Why would you need rice?) but it’s actually not a ton of liquid for the amount of veggies in it. So maybe they know what they’re talking about.

Probably my favourite thing about it – other than the price of course, was the kale. I am trying to go back to eating how my Naturopath would like me to, and kale is one of those superfoods foodies are always raving about. Besides being super good for you in other ways it is also jam packed with Calcium – and since I’m trying not to have dairy, other than yogurt, getting enough calcium is sometimes hard to do.

Still not really sure how sharing stuff like this works on the internet – so just in case the Moosewood Restaurant people try and shut me down – here’s a link to their website where they have a variety of recipes posted – and of course links to all of their books.

So there you have it Kristin – the first recipe. It took me under an hour total and the cooking times between adding things let me clean up along the way – a major undertaking if you know me! By the time we ate all that needed washing was the pot and our bowls!

Delicious – and in keeping with 3 of my resolutions! Healthy, cheap, and I blogged about it! Oh I almost forgot, it makes about 8 cups, a lot for 2 people especially when one doesn’t like the texture of chickpeas… but I’ve got lunch for the week – so not bad.

Leave a Reply

