Book Review

So I’ve fallen a little off track with the resolutions. But what can I say… it’s February! But I do want to share a couple of books I’ve read recently.

So without further adieu

Half the Sky – Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl Wudunn

I actually finished this book just after the new year, and meant to do a full review on here. Good intentions – and then all of a sudden February!

So I’ll be briefer than I was planning, likely much to my reader’s delight!

Thesis: Emancipation of women around the world will be the social injustice that is addressed in the 21st Century. In the same way that abolition of slavery was the social battle of the 19th Century and the Civil Rights movement was the battle of the 20th Century. Women are up, it’s our turn.

The book is divided into different injustices that are affecting the quality of life for women, including Human Trafficking, lack of education, lack of control over money etc etc… Each section has a personal story of tragedy, then some talk about a grassroots non-profit and often how education has a tremendous effect on combating whatever the issue is, and then ends with a happy feeling of how the original woman discussed has overcome her tragedy.

Even though this book took me a long time to get through I still really loved it. It left me with suggestions of how I can make the world a better place with simple steps. It left me with a renewed commitment to my Masters focus, which was self-esteem education for girls. But not unlike many of the other books I’ve read on this topic – it makes me wish I lived/worked in New York City. All of the non-profits that are discussed are American, and the headquarters for the large “making the world a better place” organizations are in New York. What are you doing Canada? I can’t seem to figure that out.

Basically, the book gives anyone that reads it a huge eye opener as to what too many people in the world live with everyday. It will leave you feeling encouraged to do something about it, and it tells you specifically what you CAN do to make a difference in the life of a girl or woman today.

Thumbs up.

Book 2:

Mudbound – Hillary Jordan

This one is fiction. It’s about two families one white, one black living on a farm in Mississippi just after WWII. The boy hasn’t read this yet – so I won’t give too much detail, but I wanted to mention it because my mom found it for me in Florida. This is one of the great things about going to book stores in the US. While I love Indigo, and I love that Canadian authors are featured so prominently, it is nice to be exposed to new authors and new books.

Just read it – cuz I said so.

Leave a Reply

