A short rant on York Region Public Transit

I was lying in bed this morning listening to the radio say that it was miserable outside, white-out conditions accidents everywhere, and my first thought was “too bad I live so close to work I can’t get a snow day.” I reluctantly got up and started getting ready. But when I looked out the window – turns out it’s only miserable in the city, up here in Northern Ontario it’s a beautiful day with about 8 inches of fresh white snow on the ground.

I went to leave, I took the boys keys to drive to work – the car won’t start. Drat. Oh well, there’s a bus route that takes me straight to work, so I came back upstairs, told the boy the car won’t start, and checked the York Region Transit website. The next bus was scheduled for 9:10, I’m going to be late, but I’ll get there. I call work and let them know I should be in around 9:30.

I had about 10 minutes before I needed to walk to the bus stop so I finished packing for our weekend in London, so the boy can fix the car and pick me up straight from work in the afternoon.

I walk the half block to work in the 8 inches of semi-plowed snow and I get to the light at the intersection where the bus stop is. I see the bus – I wave it down, I don’t want to cross the street while the light is red because that’s not how Sesame Street told me how to do it, plus the roads are slippery and the bus driver has clearly seen me. So I wait assuming (like a fool apparently) that the bus driver driving the EMPTY bus will stop at the bus stop and wait for me to cross the street in 3 seconds.

I thought wrong.

She looked straight at me and barreled through the intersection.

Now this wouldn’t even be that big of a problem if I didn’t live in Northern Ontario and busses came regularly but the next one doesn’t come for AN HOUR!

There’s been a lot of people giving a lot of flack to bus drivers lately, and I’m not one to jump on the bandwagon, I actually think that bus drivers have a really crappy deal. They don’t get breaks unless they are ahead of schedule (and then they just stop on the side of the road while you were secretly hoping you’d be getting somewhere a little faster than usual), and there are a lot of rude people in the world pf public transit who treat their drivers as personal dumping grounds. I’m a nice passenger I say “Good morning” and when I leave the bus I say “Thank you” I take my garbage with me, I keep my feet on the floor and I don’t deface property. What have I gotten for it – ditched at the side of the road.

And I know if I call in they’ll say “We recommend you be at your bus stop 5 minutes before the schedule says they’ll be there so you don’t miss it.” To that I say I recommend a little courtesy on a snowy winter day.

So I got my snow day, too bad I’m all bitter about it now. Brutal

One response

Leave a Reply

