What happens at a book club?

Tomorrow is the first meeting of my book club.  It is my effort to meet some people in Northern Ontario, and have someone else to talk to other than the boy.

There’s just one problem, I don’t know how to run a book club.

Our first book is The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.  It’s a book about a book club, or so I thought when I chose it.  As it turns out, the logistics of a book club are not that interesting, and so occupy  only a few fleeting pages of the book.  The rest of it was about WWII and the occupation of the Channel Islands, specifically Guernsey.  It’s written in letters and I liked it.  Well, I’m all out of ideas.

I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again, Thank Goodness for Google!

Turns out if you want to know how to “discuss a book” just Google the title.  Instantly I have been given 15 questions to lead our discussion – and that’s just on the first page.

Next step, Google – “What happens at a book club?” This is what Google has to say…

1. What happens at book club stays at book club

2. Wine and food seems to be required

3. The topic of conversation often focuses more on “what should we read next” rather than “what did we just read”

4. Copious amounts of wine, and a celebration of your inner dork

Hmm…  this seems like it could be a lot of fun, I knew there was a reason I started one!

Image from here

Leave a Reply

