From Barenaked to Baseball?

Ahh, Friday.  What a great day of the week.  This Friday is even better than last Friday because last Friday I woke up and thought it was Saturday.  Leave it to a wishful semi-conscious state to ruin a perfectly good Friday.

With Friday comes the question – “What are you doing this weekend?”  I often ask one of my colleagues this and she always says “Damn it Meaghan, every time you ask me it’s a weekend where I have nothing planned!”  Little does she know planless weekends are often my favourite kind.

Earlier this week I heard on the radio that The Barenaked Ladies are playing a show in Oshawa on Saturday.  Tickets were still available, and they had certain sections available for just $25! Awesome I thought! What a fun concert to go to,  a bit random, but still fun.  I thought about just booking two tickets but decided I better check with The Boy – maybe he’s got some elaborate surprise planned for me, and I’ll have ruined it with concert tickets.

So I asked him.  Granted, I asked him while he was in a semi-conscious state on the couch, and wouldn’t likely have gotten excited over much but his underenthusiasm was a bit disappointing.  “Yeah…. maybe…. I dunno.”  This is typically his response when he is mentally scanning to see if he will have a better option come up, which could easily include some kind of sporting event on television that he would be missing.  Underwhelmed.  I get it.  You’ll go if I REALLY want to go, but it’s not how you want to spend your Saturday night.  Fine.

Last night we were at my parents, and my mom asked, “What are you doing this weekend?”  I answered, not a lot – The Boy is working afterall.  The Boy piped up with his plans for the weekend (I didn’t know he had any)  “Well, we might go to a baseball game.” Oh really?! We might?  This is the first I’ve heard of said game.  I summarized these thoughts with a thumbs down.

So now it’s Friday, we’re hanging out with friends tonight – and we’ll see what Saturday brings – likely neither Barenaked or Baseball.  I just think it’s funny that we both thought of great weekend plans… if only the other was interested.

Have a great weekend!

Picture from here

Leave a Reply

