Love songs for lovers

My friend over at ahandmadestory is just days away from her wedding.  Today I went into her office and found her with her head on her desk… meltdown.  Turns out she’s planned and planned and planned – but is feeling like she hasn’t left herself enough time to do everything.  So she’s made a to-do list that is currently 50 items long.  Needless to say she’s feeling a little overwhelmed.

Luckily she knows me and as she regularly informs me, I am a “fixer” so I tried to figure out what we could get done in a limited amount of time.  It needed to be something that she could make quick decisions about if only someone would give her some options.  So I returned to my office grabbed my iPod and started coming up with options – Item #47, choosing music for intros, cake cutting and last song. 

Her advice to me – write down your songs now, make the decisions you can make before you are planning anything as soon as possible.  I think this is mostly her “I’m getting married in 11 days” panic.

Nonetheless, here is my top 10 love songs to be used at any point on any day, but I think would be particularly nice at a wedding.  In no particular order… (Tip – Readers like lists)

  1. Dave Matthews Band – Steady as we go
  2. Blue Rodeo – Lost Together
  3. U2 – Sometimes you can’t make it (on your own)
  4. The Beatles – In My Life
  5. The Beatles – All You Need is Love
  6. Kris Allen or Garth Brooks – To Make You Feel my Love
  7. Reba McEntire and Justin Timberlake – The Only Promise that Remains
  8. The Pretenders – I’ll Stand By You
  9. Ben Folds – The Luckiest
  10. Michael Buble – Everything

As I’m typing this I’ve found it very difficult to keep it just to ten… I guess that’s why I have a Love playlist. 

(Tip – Engage your readers) Let me know what your favourites are.  Sister I know I’ve forgotten some of yours so comment away.

Picture from here

7 responses

    • Terry I didn’t know you read my blog! I’m honoured! Good addition, BTW.

      I was going to send you a message re: this post actually. Do you remember your “Terry’s Slow Mix” from approximately 7-8 years ago… there was a song on there that I think the story was it was played at a wedding you went to with Courtney? Or, I might have made that part up. Either way, it’s very sweet but I have never been able to figure out who sings it or the title – I call it “Wedding Song” by Terry It starts “tonight it’s only you and me/ Picasso watches from behind the Christmas tree,/ so content on what he sees/ he cracks a smile to Anne Gede” It’s very plinky plunky music…. perhaps I should have asked you this 7-8 years ago… I kept forgetting! XOXO

      • Do you still have the song somewhere? Cause those lyrics are made up I’m pretty sure. And what does plinky plunky mean?

      • I can’t believe you would think I would just make up lyrics. I would do no such thing! I’ll send it to you. And plinky plunky is… you know plinky plunky… it’s a type of music, as a music enthusiast I would think you would know this technical term. Plinky on the guitar plunky on the piano… or something like that. Quiet… soothing… yoga-esque… plinky plunky. If I keep writing it does that help?

  1. 10 love songs and not a single Sade? I see some conflict when it comes to us choosing our wedding songs.*

    *We’re getting married, deal with it.

    • You’re reading my blog too! Wow! I guess wordpress was right – give people lists and they come out of the woodwork.

      I’m open to negotiation and suggestion, but you should know in the end it’s all about me.

      Deal with it.

  2. Pingback: Well, we were all waiting for it, weren’t we? « a handmade story

Leave a Reply

