Another Merry Monkey Morning

My parents are away, and the boy and I have been staying at their house to look after the dog, Denver.  The boy claims that this decision was to make it easier for Denver (he won’t be as stressed out because he’s still at home) and had nothing to do with their large TV that has access to multiple sporting events in HD, or that it happens to be NHL playoffs right now… no it’s not that, it’s all for the dog.

I don’t mind though, I’ll miss my house when it’s gone – so it lets me soak up some time within the walls I know and love.  The other great part about being and Mom and Dad’s, they have ice cubes (a luxury that we have not purchased yet at our apartment).  Not only that, they have a blender that happily makes delicious smoothies.  And beyond THAT, my Mom recently got a new raw food cookbook Art of Raw Living Food complete with a tried and tested smoothie recipe.  The result is filling deliciousness.

Every morning this week I have made myself a Merry Monkey Smoothie, and every morning I am not even peckish until lunch.  Typically in the morning I enjoy almond butter or peanut butter and honey on toast.  It’s good, it’s fast, it’s healthy, but I’m usually looking for a snack around 10:30.  My new smoothie is beyond delicious, really takes no time at all to make, and I’m full until at least noon.  Brilliant.

Here’s the skinny on the smoothie:

1 banana

1/4 cup almond milk

2 tbsp almond butter

1 tbsp agave nectar (to be found at your local health food store)

1 tsp cinnamon

1 cup ice

Today I added a heaping teaspoon of ground flax seeds – you know to make sure things keep moving.

SMOOTHIFY, pour and enjoy.

I’m hoping my blender at home will be up to the task because I am really addicted to this deliciousness – so much so that last night I tracked down organic bananas at 9:45pm so I would be able to have one this morning.  It may have required 2 stores.

This does mean that I’ll have to break down and buy ice cube trays, and find room for them in the freezer, a daunting task, but worth it.

The next recipe in the book is an Avocado Whip Smoothie – which consists of an avocado, mango, pineapple, almond milk, and ice… plus whatever I’ve forgotten.  I’m intrigued but much like my love of the Starbucks Chai Tea Latte – what if I try something else and it’s not as good?  I’ll be so disappointed.  We’ll see.  I may have to take the leap and try something new or I’ll be at risk of too much of a good thing.

Picture from here

Leave a Reply

