Is it still a club if it’s only a couple?

They’re dropping like flies in my book club.  Well, that’s not true but apparently Wednesday May 12 was not a good day for a lot of people. 

I hosted our discussion on Eat Pray Love, and was having a minor anxiety attack beforehand because I knew that the 3 people in my book club that I know weren’t going to be able to make it.  That left me to lead a discussion on a book I hadn’t finished with 3 complete strangers, and 1 newer friend – a person I know, but haven’t known for long.  Stranger danger! What is an introvert to do? Fake it was the only answer I could come up with. 

I Googled my little heart out looking for interesting questions about the book and I watched Elizabeth Gilbert’s TED Talk – which I actually enjoyed, and I waited for the strangers to start ringing my bell.

A few minutes after 7 I started to get nervous that no one was coming, that I would have to eat the fruit and cheese all by myself.  Maybe I hadn’t given good enough directions, maybe I had misprinted my address and they were all searching for the wrong number on my street… a few more minutes go by and at LAST, (7:05ish) the doorbell rings.  I answer the door and find myself face to face with a friendly stranger.

I invite her in and I quickly learn that of the people she knows in the book club (all of the strangers) none of them are able to make it tonight.  Looks like it’s just the two of us.  Turns out (prepare to be shocked) this stranger is perfectly lovely! We chat about my apartment, she loves our paint colours.  We interview each other for a few minutes, and then get down to business… that book I didn’t like or finish.

Well as it turns out there’s more we can agree on.  It’s not that my new friend didn’t like the book – she did in fact, but she listened to the audiobook and agreed that if she had been reading it, she probably wouldn’t have gotten through it either.  Relief. It’s too chatty, but when listening to it, she didn’t notice the chattiness – it’s just a chatty friend telling you about her trip.

All in all, it turned out to be a great evening, and we chose the book for next month – get ready virtual book clubbers – The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini.  I know it’s a widely read book but neither of us had read it, and no one else came so we got to make the executive decision.  I have read A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini and it is on my list of favourite books of all time.  (Perhaps that’s another blog list I should make?)

So book club month 2 was still a success, I made a new friend in a way that I was probably more comfortable with (one on one rather than a group).  We have had some attrition, my newer friend has said she’s too busy with her business  right now so she can’t commit to my book club (shout out to Nutrition Naturally).  That’s cool I guess.  I’m down to 7. 

If you’re in the Newmarket area and looking for a book club – drop me a note and I’ll hook you up!  It’s super fun, even when it’s only a couple – how many clubs can say that?

For those that might be interested – Elizabeth Gilbert’s TED Talk on how hard we are on artists and creative people, and that rather than a special few people being genius we all have genius running through us.  I found it interesting, and if nothing else it made me want to try to finish her book, which was not something I was considering before watching this. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

