Where does the time go?

Oh Facebook, what did we do before you? Talk to people? Boo.

This morning I came to work, checked my all of email accounts and checked my Facebook.  On my Facebook home page is a status update from a friend from High School that her and her manfriend are celebrating their 10th anniversary.  OMG that’s a long time, and I feel old. 

I went to send a message and thought I could add a little note about something that seems central to our lives now – that did not exist 10 years ago.  So I Googled, and came across a WHOLE list of 50 things we didn’t have in the year 2000. 

So my friend has inadvertently inspired my post.  I’ll give you some highlights, but you can find the whole article 50 ways life has changed in the last 10 years.

Things I do/use daily that apparently I couldn’t have 10 years ago:

CAMERAS: Remember those trips to get film developed? Nope? Even your grandmother has a digital camera, and she’s probably emailing you photos right now or uploading them to a photo-sharing site.

Your grandmother may be able to email and upload her photos – but mine cannot.  She does still have a digital camera, but like many of us all of her pictures are safely stored on her camera… to be seen by no one. 

FACEBOOK: Can you believe this social networking site was once limited only to Harvard students? Now it’s a time-sucking obsession for more than 300 million users globally and a whole new form of social etiquette: Who to friend on Facebook?

Without Facebook – I wouldn’t have thought of this post.  And then where would be?  Wandering aimlessly through the world –  that’s where.

GOING GREEN: From the kind of light bulbs we use to the kind of shopping bags we carry to the cars we drive, “going green” took hold this decade. Now, it’s not strange to hear a school kid tell a parent to use a cloth grocery bag.

Going green also means that if you forget your bags when off to the grocery store – you feel like you are single-handedly killing our planet.  So you buy another green bag… I don’t think the Boy and I are the only ones that are feeling overrun by our green bags.

GOOGLE: This was the decade that Google became a part of our brain function. You know that guy who was in that movie – when was it? Just Google it.

I ask people on a pretty regular basis what people did before Google… I for one would really be lost without it.

IPODS: An icon of the digital age, it’s hard to believe this portable media player was first launched in 2001. Six years later the 100 millionth iPod was sold.

Again something that I seriously can’t live without.  I get to listen to music constantly and of course my podcasts!  Way to be Steve Jobs.

ORGANIC: Americans rushed to fill their grocery carts with organic food, making it big business – now a $21-billion industry, up from $3.6 billion in 1997. At decade’s end, Michelle Obama planted the first White House organic vegetable garden.

I know people say organic is all a lie.  Alls I know is I can’t eat regular bananas without my throat closing up… but I can eat Organic without an issue.  So there.

STARBUCKS: It’s a cliché that there’s one on every block, but sometimes it seemed like it – and millions now consider it normal to spend $4 or so on a coffee drink in the morning, perhaps a venti half-caf half-decaf vanilla latte with an extra shot.

Everytime I go to Starbucks it makes me think of Tom Hanks in You’ve Got Mail.  “The whole purpose of places like Starbucks is for people with no decision-making ability whatsoever to make six decisions just to buy one cup of coffee. Short, tall, light, dark, caf, decaf, low-fat, non-fat, etc. So people who don’t know what the hell they’re doing or who on earth they are can, for only $2.95, get not just a cup of coffee but an absolutely defining sense of self: Tall. Decaf. Cappuccino.”

$2.95 must be American 1998 prices – because my Grande Chai Tea Latte with Soy, Extra Hot, No Water, No Foam is $5.14 or $4.64 with my registered Starbucks card.

WIKIPEDIA: A boon to lazy students everywhere, the open-source encyclopedia used the masses to police its entries and keep them (mostly) (sometimes) accurate.

I don’t use Wikipedia daily, and I do refrain from saying “that’s what Wikipedia tells me.”   But I do like that you can look up any date and find out fun  facts about this day in history.

Example: May 20th, 1940 the first prisoners arrive at a new concentration camp at Auschwitz

May 20th, 1980 60% of Quebec voters vote No in Referendum for separate from Canada 

and last but certainly not least…

BLOG: I blog, you blog, he blogs … How did we spend our time before blogging? There are more than 100 million of these web logs out there in cyberspace.

I don’t know what I did before my blog.  Kept my opinions to myself I guess.  Boring!

Happy Anniversary Facebook Friend!

Pictures from here, here, here, here

2 responses

    • You’re most welcome! Thanks for subscribing! You get the honour of being my first “stranger” subscriber. It made my day! I hope you enjoy my blog… it’s mostly random thoughts that will hopefully give you a regular smile or laugh.
      ~Meaghan

Leave a Reply

