Secret Admirers

A little post to say thank you to all of the secret shout outs I’ve been getting the last week or so on this little blog of mine.  As it turns out it’s not just my Mom, my sister and the Boy that read my daily (week-daily that is) ramblings on being twenty-something.   It seems that there are people all over the place that are checking in to see what I have to say – it’s so humbling.

I have heard from friends from High School, friends from Elementary school and friends from University. 

One friend reads on her study breaks – so she can check in with what’s happening in the life of someone her age that isn’t up to her eyeballs in legal jargon. 

Friends that I would never have thought would read what I have to say, leave a comment here after something that I’ve written or have sent me little messages on Facebook to say they are loving my blog.  I’m always so shocked and beyond excited that they care enough not only to read it, but to let me know that I’m doing a good job.  Somehow it’s extra gratifying coming from people who don’t have to say nice things to you – they’re not your mom, or your boy… but they say them anyway.  I just wanted to say thanks.

And finally, a friend from University that this blog seems to be at once closing and creating distance between us.  She’s on the other side of the country now, so keeping in touch is more effort – she’s super excited that she keeps up to date with everything in my life.  Unfortunately she doesn’t have a blog – so I have no idea what’s going on with her!  The big things of course, she’s working, she’s leaving for a trip in a few days, but not the little things.  Not the random stories, or the things that are driving her crazy these days.  Still, it means a lot to me that she’s reading – it’s weird how it feels supportive from so far away and without actually talking to each other.

And then of course there’s the strangers.  The strangers make me feel famous.  Even though it’s only a few, whenever I get a stranger comment I announce it to everyone I know.  I got a stranger subscriber the other day – OMG it made my week.  Strangers are a special group of readers because they have absolutely no obligation to read, and no curiosity to read, to them I really am just another blog on wordpress.com.  But they’re taking a chance on me – taking the time to read and/or comment on what I’ve had to say.  Does it make me narcissistic that I get so excited over strangers? For that matter, are bloggers in general just  a bunch of narcissists?  Hmm. Maybe.

Anyway, I just wanted to start the week by sending a shout out of gratitude to all of my secret readers.  You’re encouragement has really been awesome.  (Tip #9 – appreciate your readers) 

AND, (Tip #10 – pose a question and engage your readers) since I’ve switched to WordPress, I have loved all it has to offer – except one small thing, location of viewers is not an available stat as far as I can find.  So if  you’d like to come out of the woodwork and leave a comment to let me know where in the world you’re reading from, I’d be overjoyed to see just how far the word of Meaghan is influencing!  Maybe I don’t  need Oprah after all!

Happy Monday!

2 responses

  1. Thought I’d let you know that I don’t have to say nice things if I don’t want to; but I do have nice things to say. Love your blog. Keep it up.
    Love
    Dad
    xxx
    ooo
    nig nig nig

Leave a Reply

