Another Celebrity Sighting

There’s been a lot of talk in the GTA about the G20 and G8 Summits.  Are they worth the BILLION DOLLAR price tag, the inconvenience, the traffic nightmares, the $1 million 10cm deep “lake”.  I have been on both sides of the 10 foot high fence on this one.  On the one hand world leaders should probably get together.  On the other, why not get together at the UN?  That’s what it’s there for, no? 

Today, all of my hesitations were put to rest as I was able to add another celebrity sighting in this small town called Newmarket, Ontario.  President Obama paid us a visit.

Before I divulge this VERY exciting story – I will recap the celebrities I’ve seen so far.

  1. Mike Holmes – Holmes on Homes.  The boy and I were out for a walk in our neighbourhood full of century homes, when I saw that very distinct back of the head.  The Boy says it wasn’t him – just some contruction worker.  But I know in my heart there will come a rainy Saturday afternoon when I’ll be watching Holmes on Homes and I’ll see it – the Boy and I walking in the background.  Why would there be several cranes and 30 people standing around looking at one little house.  Mike Holmes.  That’s why.
  2. Jackie Chan.  This is not a real celebrity sighting of the Mike Holmes or President Obama caliber – so don’t get too excited.  But I was walking out of Starbucks with Mrs. M of ahandmadestory and she did a double take.  “I swear that guy looked just like Jackie Chan!”  I assure you he did not
  3. Daniel Craig – 007.  Okay, so I didn’t actually see him.  But he was here.  Filming in Newmarket for realsies.  The boy and I did see the lighting truck that had Main Street Newmarket lit up like it was mid-day at 9pm in March.  And since we know he was here then filming Dream House, Twitter and Google told me so.  I vote that’s pretty close to a celebrity siting.  Probably closer than you’ve gotten to a Bond.
  4. President Obama.  The truest of the true sitings.  Today.  On my afternoon walk I saw him – in a helicopter.  I’m not making this stuff up.  There were two military looking helicopters flying pretty low over Newmarket.  I couldn’t tell you which one he was in, although if I had to guess I’d say the first one but I am certain of my assumption it was him.  Sure the G8 doesn’t start for another 4 days.  But we all know he’s flying into Pearson and then going by helicopter to Huntsville – it’s not like we spent $10 million readying the airport up there for him, (Oh wait… we did and no one is using it) and he’s clearly heard about traffic going North on the 400.   The clincher for me though, how I know it was him – wouldn’t it be easier to fly him in a few days early when people are least expecting it?  Perhaps he, the first lady and their adorable children are spending a few days in Huntsville before the hoopla begins?  I’m sure they’re finished with school.  And it’s not like they’ve got more pressing issues – like the worst environmental disaster in American history to worry about.  Nope.  Huntsville.  That’s where they are if you’re looking for them.

So, as you can see even though I may say Newmarket is in the boonies of Northern Ontario – it’s really a hot bed of activity.  A real “must see” on any Canadian tour.  I’ll start making preparations for the Queen’s arrival.  I’m sure she’ll be passing through during her vist next week.

6 responses

  1. I don’t want to be the bearer of bad news but Obama’s still in the US so I don’t think you saw him 😦

    He’s having a meeting on Wednesday with Stanley McChrystal in the White House.

Leave a Reply

