High Patience, Low Dominance

My mom recently did a team building personality test with her colleagues at work.  She thought it was really interesting how insightful it was, and thought it might be helpful for her 5 lost children to give it a try.  She was hoping it would give us some direction in all of our job searches.  What we found out – my siblings and I are all the same.

The Drake test looks at four different areas Dominance, Extroversion, Patience and Conformity, then ranks each of those areas in either a plus or minus to give you a lovely line graph.  It looks at where you sit naturally, and where you are currently flexing to at work.  My primary trait was patience.  This is not terribly surprising to me, especially given the other options.

What was interesting for me was where I was flexing to at work – all over the place.  The report basically said, your coworkers probably have a completely different idea of who you are then you, or your family does.  TRUE! There is this little phrase at work, “What Would Meaghan Do?”  I think this is hilarious, because they see me as this firm decisive person – my dominance trait in this test -23, on a scale that goes from -32 to +32.  And they are looking to me for guidance on decision-making and saying no?  They’re in trouble.

The circles are where I am naturally

At work my graph looks completely different.  At work I am apparently WAY out of my comfort zone.  At work according to the graph, I am ready to burn out.  At work – I need a different work.  Agreed.

What should I do with my life according to my personality?  Human Resources.  This keeps coming up.  I took the first course over a year ago.  It was okay, but I was more interested in training than in benefits.  I told that to someone and their answer was – then don’t take HR take training.  So I started looking into Instructional Design – looks interesting, but it means more Grad school.  I can’t afford more Grad school right now.  So, if I’m going to do more school, I need a different job (preferably one that will pay for school).  To get that job, I need school.  Bah.

So that leaves me here, in my twenties, lost and confused.  Knowing all kinds of jobs I’d like to do 5 years from now, but not sure how to get that first job that will lead to the 5 year plan job.

If you’ve got suggestions – send them my way. I’ll patiently accept them!

2 responses

  1. First of all, your blog title had me at Twenties.
    Secondly, your graph is way over my head. I dub you as “smarter than me.”
    Lastly, Thanks for stopping by my SITS Friday Potluck Post!

    I too, will be back! 🙂

  2. I was lost and confused workwise in my 20s, too. I was told it was “age appropriate.” Does that make you feel any better? 🙂 I’m not sure it made me feel any better. I got a lot out of the What Color is Your Parachute book way back then. What worked for me was to identify my dreams and follow them. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

