From 100% to 50/50

First of all, I can’t say it enough how awesome being featured on SITS was Friday.  What a way to start the day.  I wasn’t terribly anxious about the potential biopsy, but any nerves I did have quickly flew away once I read comment after comment of well wishes, shared experience and positive vibes being sent my way.  Totally and completely awesome.  If you are a woman, and you have a blog, you should join SITS – the Secret to Success really is Support.

Second, this is my 100th post here at The Twenties Roar.  HURRAY!!! Which in my books means I am officially a blogger. And I proved my blogger status at my trip to Sunnybrook Friday when I made the MR technicians wait while I took pictures of the ceiling tiles for my blog.

This is one from the prep room - the view from the IV bed

They were super cool about it BTW and let me take as many pictures as I wanted.  I felt a little awkward about it so I kept it pretty minimal.

Third, I’ll give a brief recap for all my concerned followers, old and new alike – it didn’t work.  This is both good news and bad news.  The bad news is I have to go back again this week.  The good news is the ultrasound was right over where this thing is – and it couldn’t distinguish it as different than the rest of the tissue around it.  So that increases the chances from “we’re fairly certain” to “we’re really quite certain” that it is in fact benign.  But once again, they can’t know until they test it.  And they can’t test it until they can probe it and take a piece.  And they can’t do that until Thursday at 8:45 under the MRI.  Bah.  So the results from the study have now dropped from a 100% success rate to 50/50.  Sorry Joan, the research assistant who jokingly told me “Don’t screw it up,” it seems I screwed it up.

In the end, regardless of the result I’m really glad I participated.  Everyone involved was super nice, and really appreciative that I would be so willing to donate my rack and my time.  Without getting too detailed here were some of the highlights.

  1. The IV – I hate the IV. It hurts.  It is my least favourite part.  2 out of 3 times now it has had a kink in it, so they end up ripping the tape of my arm, and moving it all around to figure out why it isn’t injecting smoothly – this is not comfortable… at all.
  2. The Doctor and the MR technician were both female.  There were other male assistants but the women in charge kicked them outside the curtain whenever I had to be moved or change positions.  They would only let them in once I was covered (a somewhat relative term), and/or in my next testing position.  I’m not so much with the modesty in the hospital, whoever needs to look at me can look away, but I still really appreciated their efforts – at no point did I feel like me or my rack were “the show.”  Thanks Sunnybrook staff – you are awesome.
  3. It was all Canadian.  The technology they were testing was developed by a Canadian company started by two guys that were once lowly physicists at Sunnybrook.  These two are now running an international company that is putting Canada on the map when it comes to cutting edge breast imaging technology.  Neat!
  4. This guy greets you in the breast imaging waiting room

    The Madonna Bra – this is what the staff affectionately called the C-clamp-like contraption that they stuck my rack into for about 2 hours.

    Something like this but without the screw down the middle

    Picture two C clamps one on each side…. the open part is covered with a thin plastic adhesive layer and your boob is put in the middle and then the C-clamps are clipped together so they make one cohesive C with the top just above the armpit and the bottom just above the bottom of your ribs and the bridge of the C (or the part that says Irwin in this case) is sticking straight out in front of you. It wasn’t horrible once they got it positioned right… Lady Gaga might even be inspired by it.  But let me tell you that sucker has to come off eventually – and that turned out to be my NEW least favourite part OVER the IV.  Ouch.

And that was it.  They poked they prodded, they got to use their new toys, it didn’t work, they sent me home.  All in all a valuable study, and very cool technology that to my understanding I will likely benefit from if not today, some day in the future.  That seems okay by me!

You don't have to be an artist to contribute - you can always sponsor a tile

One response

Leave a Reply

