101 in 1001

Here it is post 101.  I found this little cult group 101 in 1001 about a month ago.   It took me a LONG time to come up with 101 things… and by the time I did was close enough to my 100th post that I thought I’d be clever and save my start date until my 101st post.  Of course by that time I had already completed some of the time sensitive goals so I’ve had to change my list again… but I’m getting ahead of myself.

What is 101 in 1001? It’s 101 goals in 1001 days. For me, starting today, July 20 2010 and ending April 13 2013.  I’ve got approximately 2.75 years to complete all of the things on my list. Here’s how the website describes the project:
The Challenge:
Complete 101 preset tasks in a period of 1001 days.

The Criteria:
Tasks must be specific (ie. no ambiguity in the wording) with a result that is either measurable or clearly defined. Tasks must also be realistic and stretching (ie. represent some amount of work on your part).

Why 1001 Days?
Many people have created lists in the past – frequently simple challenges such as New Year’s resolutions or a ‘Bucket List’. The key to beating procrastination is to set a deadline that is realistic. 1001 Days (about 2.75 years) is a better period of time than a year, because it allows you several seasons to complete the tasks, which is better for organizing and timing some tasks such as overseas trips, study semesters, or outdoor activities.

The added bonus for bloggers – it keeps you blogging, and gives material to blog about!

Below is my list and above you’ll see I’ve got a new page, here’s where you can check in on my list and see how I’m doing.  I’ll post the evidence when I’ve completed something.  By telling all my loyal followers I’m going to accomplish all of these things the idea is that I feel accountable and actually follow through.

101 in 1001:

  1. 365 day photo challenge
  2. Complete a colouring book
  3. Say “Yes”
  4. Say “Yes” to the Dress
  5. Say “I do” to the Boy I love
  6. Blog at least three times a week
  7. Ride my bike to work everyday for 1 week
  8. Complete a 30 day challenge
  9. Get a better job
  10. Contribute to RRSPs
  11. Cook every recipe in a cookbook
  12. Try one new recipe per month
  13. Live allergen free for one month
  14. Live vegetarian for 1 week – twice
  15. Go on date night with the Boy twice per month
  16. Get a legitimate golf score for a full 18 holes
  17. Beat that score by 10 strokes
  18. Read at least 1 book per month
  19. Upgrade my camera
  20. Donate blood
  21. Take a camera course
  22. Learn Photoshop
  23. Learn the Adobe Suite
  24. Kayak in the Everglades
  25. Visit 3 cities I’ve never been before
  26. Visit New York, New York
  27. See one play a year (0/3)
  28. Go on a wine tasting
  29. Visit Calgary and Edmonton
  30. Complete a 100 push-up challenge
  31. Get to my ideal weight and stay there
  32. Buy a piece of art
  33. Change the picture frames to new pictures we’ve taken once per year. (0/3)
  34. Get a new bike
  35. Swim lengths
  36. Take a cooking class
  37. Put change in someone’s expired parking meter
  38. Get a puppy
  39. Dance in the living room
  40. Add a new veggie to the garden every year
  41. Make a meal entirely out of the garden
  42. Try snowboarding
  43. Go someplace warm in the winter
  44. Go camping
  45. Ski every winter
  46. Golf in a charity golf tournament every year (0/2)
  47. Set a budget and stick to it for at least 6 months
  48. Finish knitting the boy’s socks
  49. Sponsor a woman at Christmas at least once
  50. Keep all of my movie stubs in the 1001 days
  51. Clean out my closet twice each year and donate whatever I’m not wearing to charity
  52. Talk to BFF Kate once a month (0/33)
  53. Do a cleanse
  54. Eat Raw for 1 week
  55. Go on a date with my sister (0/10)
  56. Have my parents over for dinner (0/6)
  57. Have the boy’s parents over for dinner (0/6)
  58. Support a CSA farmer
  59. Finish rereading all Harry Potter books
  60. Get and watch all Harry Potter movies
  61. Make a month-long meal plan
  62. Make a long-term financial plan
  63. Have a pajama day
  64. Make a button for my blog
  65. Go to a concert
  66. Write a note and leave it in a book for a stranger to find
  67. Sign my house (Since I already did this before my official start date – I’m changing this to go on a date with Erin)
  68. Learn French
  69. Have a conversation in French
  70. Dry herbs each fall (0/2)
  71. Go on a girls weekend (0/3)
  72. Take dance lessons with the boy
  73. Watch the sunrise and sunset in Florida in the same day
  74. Knit 3 projects for other people (0/3)
  75. Go skating every winter
  76. Buy a new couch
  77. Bake a pie – just because
  78. Bake the boy cookies without him asking (0/6)
  79. Unpack the last box
  80. Put everything “in it’s spot” to the boy’s OCD standards for 1 week (0/3)
  81. Try 4 new foods at Indian and Thai restaurants
  82. Bake vegan cupcakes
  83. Have a picnic in a park
  84. Listen to an audio book
  85. Grow lettuce all year long
  86. Go to the drive-in
  87. See Kristyn at least once a month outside of book club
  88. Go to a ballet
  89. Drink 8 glasses of water per day for 1 month
  90. Switch over to my gmail account
  91. Go on a dressed up date with the boy (0/3)
  92. Figure out what specific additional education I need/want to pursue and register
  93. Create a personal website
  94. Read all of the Giller Prize winners
  95. Get up and start my day with the boy every day for 1 week
  96. Watch all of the movies we own
  97. Inspire someone else to write a 101 in 1001 list
  98. Put away $20 each time I complete something on the list
  99. Donate $5 for everything not completed
  100. Write a new 101 list when this one is completed
  101. Go above the minimum on at least 5 of the items.

There it is.  Some people like to separate the items into categories… I had a hard enough time coming up with 101 things let alone grouping them… but now that I think of it maybe I can – so check back for that update.

Day Zero is today – see you on April 13, 2013 to see how much I was able to do!

2 responses

  1. Great list. I’ve seen a few people do this and I’ve been thinking about giving it a try. I think it’s going to take me a while to put together my list also. Thanks for the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

