Picking up where you leave off

Not just picking up with friends – which was where the title came from a week ago when I first typed it, but with this blog.  Not suer if you noticed, but I sort of dropped off the planet.  Sorry about that.  So I’ve considered doing a mad post of all the things I have been doing the past couple of weeks instead of blogging… hmmm.  This blog is to for me to keep a record of my life to look back on – and the Boy have been busy living the life I want to remember, it seems silly to skim over the busy parts and give special attention to the everyday parts.

So I’m compromising, I’ll condense but I won’t skim over.

This takes me to event #1 A Date with K8

Do you have a friend that you don’t see a lot, maybe they live in another country, or province (my case) or maybe they live down the street, but your lives took you in different places and you just don’t seem to see eachother as much as you know you should?  I’m sure a lot of people can relate – there’s someone you don’t see but once you do, it’s like you saw them yesterday.  It’s a great feeling.  Picking up where you leave off.  Like they never left.  Like you’re still 21 living in an apartment together, going to school and hanging out on the couch.  That was my date with K8.

She arrived fashionably late, mostly because she left late, and we apparently live a ridiculous distance from civilization (read Toronto).  But once she arrived there was wine, there was gossip, there was talking about boys, and of course talk about the Boy.  Talk about family, friends, travel, school plans, job plans, weddings (ours and others) and of course her plans to move home to me.  And then the Boy came home – and finished making us dinner (I had prepared, he BBQ’d).

Something that makes a great friend even greater – when they love your Boy as much as they love you.  Once the Boy got home he and K8 were able to pick up where they left off and we all went to Dairy Queen for Children’s Miracle Network Blizzards!  As a side note Dairy Queen has a new size – Mini! It’s really the perfect amount of ice cream.  There’s just one problem, it’s $2.99! $3 for a teeny tiny blizzard.  It may be the perfect amount of ice cream, but it’s a total rip off.  For as often as I go to Dairy Queen – I think I’ll probably suck up the stomach ache and stick with a Small.

The Boy went to bed by 10:30 (a late night for him) while K8 and I stayed up talking for another 2 hours.  I couldn’t even tell you all the things we talked about – we just talked.  We caught up, we recapped, we analyzed, we laughed, and when she very reluctantly had to leave – I could have cried.

That’s the bittersweet part about the great friend you can pick right up with, it makes you wish you didn’t have to pick back up where you left off.  It makes you wish you didn’t have to pick up at all – that she was just there, in your everyday, all the time.

That’s why she needs to move back to the T-dot.  STAT.

So K8, when you’re reading this – book your ticket, pack your stuff, and get back here.  I had a great night and I think you’ll agree, it’d be great if we could do it more frequently than semi-annually!

Leave a Reply

