Late to my own party

For those who know me you’re likely well aware that I am always late.  It drives the Boy B-A-N-A-N-A-S. I like to think of it as my tragic flaw.  Doesn’t every hero have one?  The one thing that stops them from completely taking over the world?  I think so.  Lateness is definitely mine.

I’m not generally late for work.  Although living 5 minutes away probably helps with that.  But social events, homework assignments, and remembering birthdays? Late. Late. Late.

I have the best of intentions.  It’s something about myself that I try to change.  Daily. I try to leave myself lots of time to get ready, but I always seem to underestimate the time it takes to either get to where I’m going, or I haven’t ironed my outfit, or I think “I’ve got loads of time I’ll just clean up the kitchen a bit before I go.”  Next thing you know, I’ve left late. And when you leave late.  You arrive late.  And despite best efforts… you’re late… again.

While it may drive the Boy crazy, I like to think of it as endearing.  When I arrive late to meet one of those people that know me best, I always apologize – I really do try and be on time.  Generally though they laugh it off and say “Of course you’re late, you’re always late” and we continue on our way.

But this time.  This time I really thought I was going to be on the ball.  This time I’ve been thinking about what I would do weeks in advance. This time I just forgot to check the date – and I missed it.  The blog party I was planning for myself.  I can’t beat myself up too much about it though… it’s only fitting.

Happy 1st Birthday to The Twenties Roar!  I started this blog on October 9, 2009, over at Blogger (maybe I’ll get the date right form my Wordpress birthday)  To be honest I thought it was later than that, and that’s why I’m late.  I thought  it was around November 2nd.  Turns out no.  And I’m late to my own party.

In belated celebration of this momentous occasion I’d like to add a new page to my blog.  Favourites.  But I need some help.

I have a few of my favourites – like the Hypothetical Fight or My Very First Post but I want to know what are yours?  What brought a smile to your day?

Was it my thoughts on Pay Day? Or maybe when the boy tried to kill me when we went Swimming with Dolphins?  My recent trip to the Emergency Room seemed to generate quite the discussion.

So grab a Chai Tea Latte, cozy up to your computer, take a walk through (my) memory lane and let me know which ones you liked in the comments.  My favourites page should give new readers a snap shot of The Twenties Roar if they’ve just found me. 

Help me let them know what they’ve been missing.

5 responses

  1. Happy birthday Twenties Roar! I like the first post, wherein you provide helpful tips on getting to one’s dream career. I found those steps really helpful. Thanks!
    I also enjoyed the post in which you mentioned that my Boy and I were getting married 🙂

  2. I have a good friend with the same affliction, but here’s the thing. While she may always be late, I know she will be there. I’d rather wait a little longer for someone than deal with someone who just flakes out! I’m justt sayin’!

    Happy blog birthday!

Leave a Reply

