TLC Stoops to New Low

Dear TLC,

Remember when your programming actually reflected the name of your channel – you know incorporating some kind of learning into it.  Remember the days of Trading Spaces, when the show focussed on low-budget renos with a twist.  Then it got trashier and trashier and eventually it just became about shocking the home owners and trying to get a reaction.  That was the start of the downward spiral.

Now you have shows like Say Yes to the Dress – I’ll admit.  I watch it.  Definitely more than I should – I like looking at all the pretty dresses, and the ugly ones too.  But let’s not kid ourselves, there is no learning there.  I am no better educated on what I can expect a dress to cost in real life. It’s just for fun.  And that’s fine.

Then I saw a preview for Sister Wives, and I thought it looked simply horrible.  But there was nothing on TV last Wednesday so I watched it.  It sucked me into a time warp and while it made me insanely angry when what’s his face told wife number one that if she were to marry another man he would think that was wrong and against the will of God – and “I guess that’s a bit of a double standard”  I still watched – I plead guilty.

But now, now you’ve pushed me too far. You’ve given Sarah Palin her own series. And I just puked in my mouth.  Are you kidding me TLC?  Are you kidding me?  I love that the preview is her saying she’d much rather spend her time in the beautiful wilderness of Alaska than in a stuffy office in Washington – please.  You are not fooling me Palin – I’m 100% certain that this is a calculated decision to win the hearts of TLC loving Americans to vote in their new favourite “reality star” to lead the country.  It makes my skin crawl.

TLC I have lost my love for you.  I will not be tricked into watching this show.  I would give you up completely but What Not to Wear is starting again – and I do love my Stacey and Clinton and New York shopping.  But if you’ve screwed with that format – I’m outta here.

Sincerely,

Meaghan

6 responses

  1. No. No…I refuse to accept that Sarah Palin is getting her own show. I can do nothing but sit here and shake my head and the depths to which networks will sink to fill their time slots.

    I seriously think I should have my own “reality” show. If Sarah freaking Palin can have her own show, then why not me.

    I’m still shaking my head. I can’t seem to stop. God that woman irritates me.

  2. I just had to stop by and read your take on Sister Wives! Your right, it does suck you into a time warp… as do most reality shoes that I’m so guilty of watching!

    I don’t think I’ll be watching the Sarah Palin show either. For one, I think it’s ridiculous that a political figure and their family spends so much time on entertainment news as opposed to national news. Two, she annoys me because she’s not honest…. of course she would prefer to be in an office in Washington!

    Thanks for stopping by the other day!

Leave a Reply

