We’re not alone

Canada AM

Image via Wikipedia

That’s what I learned on Canada AM yesterday.  Emerging adults (ie. 20-somethings) are stressed, and apparently we have good reason to be.

Let’s stats it up shall we?

  • One-third of us move once a year – check
  • 40% move back home with dear ol’ mom and dad at least once – check
  • Average of 7 jobs in the decade – 6 for real, but technically 7 (and I still have 2 more years)… so CHECK!
  • Two-thirds live with a romantic partner without being married – Check and CHECK!

This category of Emerging Adult is a pretty new phenomenon.  We’re the first group to really emerge in this transition to adulthood stage.  50 years ago we went from adolescence to married with babies and no room in between.  With more choices in education and career for women comes more stress for everyone. What’s more, since we’re one of the first groups, our parents have no idea what’s taking us so long – or at least they can’t assure us that “they were the same when they were our age” – quite frankly they weren’t.

The lovely psychology professor on Canada AM said the greatest help for the 20-somethings… knowing that they’re not alone in their stress.  Knowing that even though it may seem like some of their peers have it together – they likely don’t.  We’re all in it together.

Truth be told, I do find that comforting.  That’s one of the reasons I blog after all!

The other thing that helps?  Vacation.  A vacation into retirement is, I can only assume, even better! So that’s just what I’m going to do.

I’m off for a little vaycay with the Boy and my parents in Del Boca Vista. Don’t worry though my pets I’m leaving you in good hands!

Last year I thought I would blog my adventures each day… it didn’t work.  So this year, as I’m more established in the blog world (read: I read a lot more blogs… not I have a lot of traffic) I’ve arranged for some great guest posts while I’m away. If I have time – or something really worth mentioning (like the Boy tries to kill me again, by throwing me off another Seadoo) I’ll check in.  But otherwise – I’m on vacation, and I’m comforted to know that I’ve left you in good hands.

See you when I get back – tanned burned and relaxed.

‘Till then, try not to stress out 20-somethings… we’re all in this together!

Let me know… what stresses you out?

2 responses

  1. I still don’t have it together and I’m out of my twenties. That happens when you can’t stop going to university.

    Hey! Have fun on your vacation! I was wondering why Del Boca Vista sounded so familiar. Isn’t that where Morty Seinfeld retired and had all his hilarious confrontations with the condo board?

Leave a Reply

