Venue #2 – Pillars anyone?

The Boy and I are looking for a venue that is beautiful.  We’re not looking for a big box banquet hall.  We want something a little different, and somewhere that doesn’t need a lot of extra fuss.  Why not just start with a naturally lovely canvas instead of spending money on covering up something ugly.  Makes sense to me.

So I took to Facebook and asked my peeps for venue suggestions.  One recommendation – The Doctor’s House in Klienburg – I’ve been there for Mother’s Day brunch… it was delicious.  We’ll give it a whirl.

The pro/con list:

Pro – Beautiful.  Lot’s of nice pictures.  The outside is lovely.  It’s an old house – estate styles.  Definitely charming. Not big box banquet hall.

Pro – We would be the only wedding on site that day.

Pro – Wedding suite for the happy couple (that’s us!) onsite.  We wouldn’t have to travel anywhere, and the accomodations are in a cute little house that has all kinds of adorable character.  Plus the biggest shower I have ever seen.

Pro – Lots of space. This is both pro and con really.  There is LOTS of space.  The venue seats 200 (questionable).  There is a separate bar room, pro (I think… maybe) and a separate ballroom for dancing.  Con. Maybe its because I haven’t been to a wedding set up that way before, but it seems to me that having dancing separate would kind of break up the party.  Sure they said we could put tables along the sides to invite the non-dancers into the space… I’m not convinced.  Maybe if the bar and dance floor were connected, but everything is separate.  It seemed really formal and old school and classy on the one hand – and really separate on the other… I didn’t like that.

Cons – Pillars. Pillars. Pillars.  EVERYWHERE.  So much so that the set up is tables of 6 set between the pillars. In rows.  So it seemed that if a pillar wasn’t in your way of seeing – someones head would be.   I didn’t like that at all.

Con – Proximity to hotels. Not too big of a deal, but something to consider for sure.

Con – Price. At this point I’m not freaking about price too much since a lot of the places we’ve seen are pretty similar.  But man alive when you do the math – heart attack.  Definitely a con on this one. For the price, there better be ABSOLUTELY no cons.

Con – no feelings. It was lovely.  I’m glad we went to see it.  But neither the Boy nor I got the feelings.  I couldn’t see it.  I couldn’t see ourselves there.

The feelings.  Oh the feelings. Here’s the thing loyal followers.  I like the lists. I like the pros and the cons for each, and I will continue to list them.  But when it comes down to it. I’m a gut girl.  Screw best mileage, great insurance rates…  if I ever get to the point of being able to buy a new car – I’m sure I’ll test drive, but ultimately I make the decision based on my gut.  I have little doubt that this very big decision will be any different.

Tomorrow – visiting the original vision… I’m in love.

How do you make big decisions?

Leave a Reply

