Happy New Year!

Happy 2011 Everyone! I hope each of you enjoyed a restful holiday and maybe even extra time off to spend with those you love the most.  That’s how I spent the last week, and while I felt I was being a bit neglectful of this here blog I decided the time spent with the people I know IRL (In Real Life) was much needed.  And with the date set, and venue chosen the Boy and I even took some time off from W-Day planning.

But now it’s January 3rd, and that means back to work in all aspects of life, blogging, W-day and that pesky “job” place.  Bah!

So how can I get back in the swing of things? I think I need to give the people what they want… a rundown of what venue we ended up with and officially beginning our countdown by announcing the date.

But first, a recap:

Venue 1 – Holland Marsh Winery.  You may recall that the Boy and I L-O-V-E-D this venue.  We could really see ourselves celebrating our marriage there, but alas Rolland who claimed to always take care of his first, was typical of the teenage boy he stole his line from – and totally screwed us over. He wanted $5000 for the space alone, and the caterer we were looking forward to working with there, has still yet to send me her quote.  Cons all around.  We moved on.

Venue 2 – The Doctor’s House. The Boy and I really didn’t like this one, their new space looks like it will be lovely but is designed for way more people than we will be having, and the space that was available for us had too many pillars and the spaces were too seperate for our liking. Veto.

Venue 3 – The Estates at Sunnybrook. Heart.  If we were planning a slightly smaller wedding with an unlimited budget I’d be all for it.  I believe the word stunning was used multiple times.  So pretty, and socially conscious.  Unfortunately philanthropy comes with a price tag I just couldn’t get behind. With a heavy heart, we I moved on.

Venue 4 – Nottawasaga Inn.  I didn’t get to a full review of this one – please forgive me.  But there really wasn’t much to write about.  It’s around the corner from my parents new house, so we had to check it out for the convenience factor alone.  But once inside, our suspicsions were quickly confirmed.  Two words: Old and Dated.  The first space they showed us looked like like a church basement.  Nothing against church basements, but if we wanted our wedding in one we would have it in a church basement.  The second space was better, but really nothing unique or special.  It just looked like a hotel banquet room…. which is fine… just not what we were looking for.  Convenience be damned – veto.

Venue 5 – McMichael Art Gallery. This one was up there with Sunnybrook – it was beautiful, and the best pro, you can rent the gallery for cocktails.  Awesome!  Cons – it’s close to nothing (hotel and church wise) and it too had a nice price tag.

At this point we were getting discouraged.  We still hadn’t had the full dud experience of Venue 1, so we were still holding our breath for that one, but at the same time the prices of everywhere else were causing me a slight panic attack.  So we made the trek into the country and checked out Venue 6.

Venue 6 – Woodington Golf Course. Woodington Golf Course was lovely. The price was right.  The coordinator was awesome.  It made its way into our top 2 and our top choice for a short time.  The only con, location.  The golf course was in Tottenham, where there isn’t a hotel.  It was about a 20 minute drive from Alliston (back to the high prices of Nottawasaga for hotels) and about 30 minutes from Newmarket.  Given that pretty much all of our guests are coming from out of town this was a major consideration.

At this point the bottom fell out of Venue 1 and it was about 6 days to Christmas – the day when the whole world gets engaged. And we had nothing.

Venue 7 – Waterstone Farm and Estate. We booked an appointment for Saturday at 11 to see it.  We got there.  And the Coordinator didn’t show. Well isn’t that fantastic.  The good news?  She left the door open so the Boy and I snuck in and showed ourselves around.  We liked it.  We didn’t like that the woman we were supposed to meet didn’t show.  So we left her a note and went on our way. We made a mental pro/con list and started to really lean toward Venue 6.  Then I got an email from the owner of Venue 7 complete with a big apology and an offer of a free butlered shrimp cocktail should we choose to book with them.  She also sent me there prices and menus.  I appreciated the customer service and the reasonable prices – we booked another appointment.

This time my mom came with us, the coordinator/owner did show up, we got a full inspection of the place, a good understanding of what was being offered, we saw pictures of what it would look like on the day of.  We liked it.  There was just one issue… September 17 – booked.  September 24 – booked. October 1 – booked.

That left us with September 10, October 8 and October 15.  We didn’t want our wedding on Thanksgiving.  So that left September 10 and October 15.  We voted. The Boy voted for September 10 – he didn’t want to risk the wheather in October.  My mom agreed (though hesitant since that weekend coincides with our Kitchener Knitters Fair weekend).  I was hesitant only because I really wanted the fall colours – but the Boy assured me my red hair was good enough, and while it could be lovely and colourful and beautiful… it could be snowing.  So we did it.

We signed the contract there and then – 3 days before Christmas. And set the date for…

September 10, 2011!

Tomorrow – a little more about Waterstone… you had me at barn

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Counting it Down – 8 Months « The Twenties Roar

  2. Your blog is amazing! We are looking at Watersone for our venue next July (2013), we fell in love with the entire grounds. If you can give me any feedback on the venue i would really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

