Wedding Showed

The Boy was sick the first week of the new year.  I took good care of him and in return, I got his germs.  Thanks Boy!

So the first wedding show experience was a snotty one.  I was sick.  I didn’t feel great but it was the local one – and it was one day and one day only.  So I packed up my mom and my sista and off we went.

We picked up flyers and cards from all of the venders.  Luckily there weren’t too many.

I met our venue’s preferred caterer.  And I flipped through a photographer’s book that was Waterstone wedding. It was small.  We saw a couple of everything, a couple tux places, a few photographers, a cake person, a couple florists.  We were in and out in about an hour or so and we did what any mom/daughter team would do with a Saturday afternoon… we went to Starbucks and got half-price Chai Tea Lattes (on until January 16) and looked at books.

We also went and checked out hotels – my mom is on a mission to cross off as many things as possible by February.  In the hotel front, we picked one (maybe two – still undecided). My lovely sista thinks she should get the jacuzzi suite since the Boy and I will be far too tired to enjoy it, and he’ll probably be creeped out but the number of strangers that have used it before us.  Yes, we should probably just have a regular room, and she will take care of any fanciness.

By Sunday I was well-practiced with the wedding show circuit. Or so I thought.  Mom and I headed downtown to a Toronto wedding show.  It was similar to the York Region Wedding Show… but on crack. Instead of one pastry chef with one sample cake there were at least 5 different bakeries some with 50 cakes to choose from.  From two or three photographers to dozens, each with awesome wedding books, photojournalistic, creative shots of bridal parties posed in front of a graffiti covered wall or perched on top of a dumpster.  Beauty.

The good news – I was at least feeling better.  The bad news – I didn’t create a system for distinguishing between the good, the bad and the ugly until about half-way through.

Here’s 5 things I learned from being Wedding Showed:

  1. If you’re going to take everyone’s flyer, create a system – I started making a small tear in the ones I didn’t like so I’d remember to pass them over later.  Unfortunately I only started that system halfway through.
  2. If it doesn’t explicitly say No Pictures – take pictures.  If it does say No Pictures… take them quickly.
  3. Wedding shows are great for ideas… lots of ideas… lots of expensive ideas.
  4. Now that I have about 100 photographers to look through, I have a much better idea of average pricing.  (This is true for all the pros really) I also have examples of what I like and what I don’t, so when speaking to a photographer hopefully I’ll be able to sound like I know what I’m talking about
  5. Leave the Boy at home – I can’t imagine if he’d come… OMG he would have lost his mind!

All in all a great experience that I’m happy never to repeat (even though there are several more scheduled throughout January I think I’ll pass).

PS. I told the Boy about Sista’s plans for hotel rooms… he agreed with her – we will be too tired, and the strangers do freak him out.  They know each other so well!

One response

  1. Pingback: Happy January 2nd! « The Twenties Roar

Leave a Reply

