That’s Mr. Boy to you

You will recall that after a year and a half of waiting the Boy finally got to talk to a real person at our local school board. Not only did he get to talk to a real person, he got an interview.  AND since he’s obviously brilliant (and handsome) he was hired, and is now, in his words, “holding down 3 jobs just trying to put food on the table!” Drama queen.

Tuesday was the long-awaited orientation day.  He had to go to an orientation before he could get a supply position. It was all he expected it to be and more.  A boring 1/2 day of health and safety training, learning to use the website, a phone, etc. He was also told he wouldn’t likely get a call for two weeks.  Paperwork.

Part of that paperwork is entering the newbies into a database and including their school preferences.  The Boy and I live smack dab in the middle of the region, so he didn’t make any specifications.  He’ll go anywhere and take anything.  He’s slutty like that.

Wednesday morning I was almost out the door when the phone rang.  It was the school board.  I was hoping it was a job, but the rational side of me was pretty sure he had forgotten to sign something.  I gave him the phone.  Half asleep, he hung up the phone.  SHOOT! Luckily, they called back.

The conversation I heard on my end was as follows:

Boy – Hi, sorry about that…. Umm, yeah maybe…. Well I’d have to shower, I just woke up…. Aurora? Okay, yeah that’s not far. I can do that…. You said two weeks though, so I’m not really feeling well prepared….. No problem?…. Okay, I’ll get ready quickly and make my way there…. No problem…. Oh! It is?… Well, I don’t speak French…. No?….  Not a problem?…. Okay…. Okay, yup I’ll be there as soon as I can…..Okay thanks for calling…. Bye.

He hung up and shouted – “Can you please make me a lunch!”

That’s right kids, the Boy had his first day at school one day after his orientation. And yes, you read that last line in the conversation correctly – it was for French.  Not just one period of French, but a full out French Immersion school.  All French.  All the time.

I packed him a lunch and sent him on his merry way.

I sent a text message at 1:00 (the school he was sent to is also the school my boss’ kid goes to, so she let me in on when lunch was) he didn’t answer.  I got a call at 4:00 to tell me all about the first day of school.  Here are the highlights:

  1. He got grade 4
  2. There were 7 supply teachers at the school that day
  3. The teacher he subbed for was francophone which meant ALL of her lesson plans were in French
  4. The term lesson plan was being very loosely used, since it was more like a couple of point form notes on what they should continue to work on
  5. When you don’t understand any of the words around a classroom – it all looks like clutter
  6. When the instructions in a math book are in French it’s easy to see what they’re working on (parallelograms) but still impossible to know what they are supposed to be doing.
  7. He subbed in for the grade 1 gym teacher as well
  8. Grade ones in a gym are CRAZY
  9. He worried he had physically lost a kid on a couple occasions
  10. There’s always a smart helpful kid – make her your friend
  11. Grade fours know what they need to do but CANNOT explain it to a third party outsider.

All in all while it will always remain the best first day of school story EVER, it really was the best case scenario for the Boy.  He gets really nervous and anxious about new things, but since they called with absolutely ZERO notice, he didn’t have time to worry and just had to jump right in.  He’s definitely looking forward to his next call, and really hoping to get an English school next time.

Feeling illiterate while trying to teach the minds of tomorrow? Priceless.

3 responses

  1. Congrats on the first day! And you are right…best case scenario that he had no notice. No chance for him to work himself into a tizzy of worry and stress. But how they send a teacher into a school where he doesn’t speak the language is beyond me.

  2. Pingback: Happy January 2nd! « The Twenties Roar

Leave a Reply

