Hey Mr. DJ Put a Record On

Music! This was a bit of a debate back and forth, forth and back between what the Boy and I would like – and what is realistic.  Music.

When we were just talking about the far off day of “when we get married” we used to talk about a live band.  Wouldn’t it be great if we had a live band? Yeah, it would be great.  The problem? We don’t know a live band.  Any bands/bar musicians that we do know – and by know I mean have heard and danced to before – are in London – our University town.  So reality hit and we quickly realized a live band probably wasn’t going to happen, since we had not a clue where to start, nor did we have the burning desire to take on such a research project…. Maybe next time.

Yes, we definitely needed music.  And we definitely needed a DJ.  But I didn’t have the first clue where to start or what to ask.  All I had to go on was two friends that had DJs from the same company one guy was great, the other – terrible. Hmm.

I did have a friend from High School that via Facebook let me know that she’s now a wedding planner and made the lovely offer that if I needed help with vendors to let her know.  So I asked.  How do I find a DJ? Lisa sent me a few referrals but mostly she gave me things to think about when talking with a DJ and when planning the music for W-Day.

In the end I followed up with four companies – two that Lisa had recommended and two that I came across from the York Region Wedding Show.  One from each category either didn’t get back to me or was already completely booked.  Another gave me a quote that made me say – really? For music? For a guy to come and play music? For one step up from an iPod playlist?  I don’t think so.

And that left one. EJ Entertainment sent us their package and it seemed reasonably priced.  Their prices were comparable to what I knew my friends had paid.  It was a different company than they went with – but offered some similar features.  I picked them to follow-up with based entirely on the relaxed attitude of the person I met at the wedding show.  Other vendors I had spoken to had said “Oh! September 10th? That’s not a lot of time – you’ve really got to start booking things.  Like this week! Do it now!”  The sales rep at EJ Entertainment asked me when I was getting married, I told him and he basically said, “You’ve got lot’s of time! Don’t worry! When you do get around to thinking about music, give us a call – we do have better prices in the spring because of wedding show season – but don’t worry.”  I liked that.

I emailed back and forth with Elliot who turns out is one of the owners and felt assured by his confidence in his company to sell itself.  The tipping point? The Boy and I have been debating about lighting.  The Boy says no way – waste of money.  I say, I don’t want moving spotlights  but maybe there is a happy medium.  Elliot’s response to our query? The Boy is right, it’s not going to make or break your party – but a little can go a long way and he recommends looking at some really simple up-lighting.  If he had said to me “You really do need some additional lighting” followed by some bullshit reasons, to be honest I probably would have considered what he had to say, and ended up a pile on the floor in stress and confusion.  But he didn’t. He told me it didn’t matter.  If we wanted to do a bit – it’ll look great, but if not – we wouldn’t regret it.  Thanks salesperson. I feel better.

We met Elliot Tuesday after work, he was available for us to either meet him at his office in Richmond Hill, or to come to our home or a local coffee shop.  We chose to meet at our local Starbucks.  I got a feel for the person behind the emails, we saw pictures of what “up-lighting” actually means and we learned that his company has only 9 DJs – awesome.  Small enough to know who he’s sending out – large enough that if one guy is sick, there’s back-up.

We have the opportunity to meet with our actual DJ and Elliot again 4-6 weeks before our wedding.  He requires a down payment and a post-dated cheque to ensure “No one is asking you for money on your wedding day.”  I liked all of that.

DJ booked – next step creating play-lists and DO NOT PLAY LISTS.

CHECK!

We are determined to have absolutely no cheesy music and EVERYONE needs to be dancing.

So…. What songs should definitely be on our playlist?  Our Do Not play list?

2 responses

  1. Ah…music. My favorite part of a wedding.

    I think you made the right choice to go with a DJ. If you don’t already know a great band, finding one can be a hassle. And a bad band kills a good party.

    As for lighting…it really does make a huge difference in the “feeling” of a room. I went to one wedding where everything was candle lit and the overheads were kept very dim. The room…which was huge and kind of cold…became warm and cozy. And for my brother’s wedding (which I refer to all the time and must be super annoying…but seriously…best wedding ever) they had pinkish uplighting and it really looked amazing. So I think it’s important to have…but like you were told…a little goes a long way.

    As for a don’t play list…mine would include things like Celebration and Shout and the Chicken Dance. I also stay away from Celine Dion and Michael Bolton like the plague.

    Please post your lists once you come up with them. I love to see that kind of stuff.

  2. Pingback: Countdown continues – 6 MONTHS PEOPLE! « The Twenties Roar

Leave a Reply

