The Registry

The Boy and I had already registered for formal and everyday dishes from William Ashley.  We chose our formal stuff together but the date to choose our everyday stuff the Boy couldn’t make, so I went with my mom.  The Boy participated by email and phone as I sent him pictures of my top picks. He thought that was a great way to register – he didn’t have to actually be there.  Friday we had an appointment to register at The Bay and I asked the Boy to come.

Mistake #1.

I’m hoping that I’ll learn this lesson early.  Maybe this will be the last time that we’ll have this argument.  Probably not.

I need to trust the Boy when he says “That’s not really something I want to do.”

I asked him to do the registry with me since we would be picking items that are for our future home.  He suggested I go with my Mom.  I declined reminding him that these were things for OUR wedding, and OUR future home.  So he should have an opinion.

Here’s the problem.  He honestly doesn’t have an opinion.  He does not care what KitchenAid stand mixer colour we pick. (I picked Pistachio by the way).  He wants towels – he doesn’t care what colour. He wants a toaster – for some reason he doesn’t like ours. And he wants matching hangers.

Simple requests.

So the lesson I’m trying to take from this?  Instead of getting mad about his lack of enthusiasm (he didn’t even want to use the scanning gun) maybe I need to take it as a compliment – his complete trust that he will like everything I pick, and that he trusts my ability to set up our future house.  Yes. That’s what I’m going with.

The other registry lesson we learned?  It’s really hard to register for a house you don’t own.  And when you to live in a tiny little apartment – it’s hard to think about what you might need someday or where you would put stuff in that tiny little apartment.

That said – I’ve always thought it was funny when I’ve gone to bridal showers to see the bride get super excited about a pot, or towels.  I can now honestly say I get it.  I LOVE everything we’ve chosen so far.  And while the Boy might be freakin’ out that we don’t have “a spot” for everything yet, and when you think about it – it really is a weird social custom… but it’s one more thing off our my To Do List – and that’s exciting!

image from here

5 responses

  1. haha this made me laugh i could relate. we didnt need to register for a lot however..lt really came down to only my opinion and excitement over household items.

  2. Pingback: Did someone say 5 more months? « The Twenties Roar

  3. Pingback: Showered with Love « The Twenties Roar

  4. An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a co-worker
    who was conducting a little homework on this. And he in fact bought me
    breakfast because I discovered it for him… lol. So allow me to reword this….

    Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending some time to talk about this issue here on your site.

Leave a Reply

