It hurts so good?

A couple of weeks ago the Boy came with me to my Naturopath appointment.  It was his first time.  He didn’t come in, instead he played Angry Birds in the empty waiting room.  After a lovely conversation and check up I came out and proceeded to get loaded up with supplements (she’s preggo again and is trying to get me ship-shape before she ships out) and I got the bill.  I always cringe a little – there’s no getting around it, it’s expensive. But I’m making my health a priority, and the naturo is part of that.  She saves me from regular infections, off of antibiotics and I just all around feel better when I see her regularly.  I’ve committed to drinking the Kool-Aid. And I thought the Boy had as well.

You see, I told him when I started back with her a few months ago – “she’s expensive, but I’ve been sick way too much lately and I need to see her.”  He agreed.  He can’t really argue against it – he’s seen the results before.  She’s a miracle worker and I love her.  But apparently he didn’t really completely understand what I meant by expensive.

He may have freaked a little.  The Boy is a boy and doesn’t fully and completely get the Naturopath. He has not enjoyed the Kool-Aid.  He firmly believes that since I eat pretty well already if I only added more exercise/any exercise at all to my regimen I would be fine and wouldn’t need her at all.  I disagree.  Sort of.

I agree blah blah blah exercise is good for you.  Blah blah blah if I don’t get into a routine now I never will because soon enough there will be kids and then I won’t make the time to start.  Blah blah blah I’ll feel better.  But the problem has typically been finding something I like to do, at times that are convenient, and that doesn’t cost a fortune.  Hot yoga? Love it, but definitely not an affordable option.  I don’t play sports.  And while I kept asking the Boy to make me a routine I could do at home – our apartment is small and unless he was going to do this routine with me (which he refused) then I would feel horribly awkward while he watched me workout.  Not happening. Yes, increasing my physical activity would have positive effects.  No, it will not replace the Naturopath.

He on the other hand feels he’s in decent shape since he plays sports.  I disagree.  He was definitely busier than me this winter with coaching but coaching is not playing.  He only played volleyball once a week. Baseball and golf season are starting soon but there are lots of out of shape baseball players and golfers out there – have you seen John Daly?

Regardless, I agreed I would look into finding something I could do.

I found Function Studios in Newmarket.  I had looked at them last year but their membership fee had an additional fee if you wanted yoga. Boo. I learned this year that they’ve nixed that extra fee (hooray!) and that because my work is a member of our local Chamber of Commerce I could get the corporate rate of $35/month.

$35 gets me a full gym, lots of bikes, treadmills, ellipticals etc, spinning classes, yoga (both hot and regular) and unlimited access to about 75 classes each month.  Yowzer! That’s a lot of stuff.  Oh wait, and it’s women only.  That’s a pretty big part since it makes me feel way more comfortable.

I joined on Monday.

I forgot to bring a hair-tie so I did my first day on Tuesday.

On Tuesday I went on the treadmill for 20 minutes at a brisk walking pace.  Then I wandered around and did some arm stuff on the machines.  I quickly realized – I don’t actually know what to do at a gym. I watched the current class – Pump.  I thought I could do that.  It looks manageable.  I checked the schedule and went back on Wednesday for my first class.  Pump.

The Pump instructor wasn’t there for whatever reason so the girl filling in did Circuit Training instead.  I knew right from the start I was going to die.  I was right.

From burpees to push-ups, wall squats, sprints, lunging and 5 other workouts I pushed and pulled and carried my body through an hour of fantastic fitness fun. It’s now nearly 24 hours later and my legs still feel like jello.  Angry, angry jello.

The good news? I didn’t quit. I didn’t cry. And I didn’t pass out. I did ask the instructor what else she would recommend for a beginner since this nearly killed me – informing her this was literally day 2 of “let’s be more active,” she assured me that I did “REALLY REALLY well for Day 2″ to modify anything that I was doing and that actually Pump is a really good place to start.  I refrained from screaming “That’s what I was TRYING TO DO!!” Argh.   She also recommended beginner spin classes, which scare me, but I’m trying to be open everything for now.

Even though it’s only Day 2.  And even though every muscle in my body is SCREAMING at me today, I think I might have found something that I can commit to.

New goal? To be able to go to Circuit Training on purpose – and die only a little instead of a whole lot.  The Boy says it should take about 2 months.

I’m fine with giving myself 163 days (I trust I’ll still need a week to recover) – and I need to be ready for dancing on day 170!

5 responses

  1. oh spinning… i LOVE spinning. my dad does it about 4-5 times a week and it’s my boyfriend’s preferred method of working out (and no, ‘jock’ is SO not his middle name).

    congrats on joining the gym! i love mine, and believe it or not… i actually look forward to going. how sick of me…

  2. Your gym sounds awesome. I haven’t had much luck finding one that I like, but that is also affordable.

    Good for you being so proactive about exercise. You are going to be all buff in your wedding dress now!

  3. I also LOVE spinning. If I had it my way, I would do it everyday. I recently had to give up my Goodlife membership (gym closes too early for my schedule), and it is the #1 thing I miss the most about that gym (my new gym is open later, but charges extra for spin classes). You should try one – just go easy on your first one.

  4. I came in touch with your site through SITs, and really enjoy your blog. It is so much easier to work out with someone instructing and encouraging you. Spin is awesome, and it burns! I recently moved to Denmark from Canada, and am not brave enough to join a foreign gym yet. This post made me miss my old gym and the group classes 😦

  5. Pingback: Rockin’ Randomness and Ricky « The Twenties Roar

Leave a Reply

