Snacks

Snacks is a big problem for me.  The Boy craves chips. I crave sugar.

When I make cookies for the Boy I make a batch and only cook about 10.  I do this for a few reasons:

  1. When I have a cookie craving I want about 4 – 2 now and 2 for lunch the next day.
  2. The Boy has no restraint when it comes to fresh cookies.  If I make 50 he’ll eat 50.  He’ll feel sick afterward and probably even while he is eating them… but he’ll keep going.  They’re fresh cookies after all – who doesn’t love those.
  3. If I only make a few of them and drop out the rest I can in theory make cookies with ease next time.  Only every fourth batch do I need to actually go through the long process of making cookies – all the other times I can just grab 10 cookie balls, stick them in the oven and POOF – delicious cookies without all the work.

This method is great in theory except for one small problem.  Did I mention I crave sugar?  The Boy would tell you I would give him hell for doing this but every once in a while I go into the kitchen looking for… something.  What do I find?  Healthy fruit? No.  Frozen cookie dough ball? Yes. 

Is that gross?  It might be.  But it’s so delicious.

So when I read about these over at Peas and Thank You – I was intrigued, but not quite ready to try them.  With the new food challenge though – I thought now or never and gave them a whirl.

Raw Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls.

They are delicious.  They don’t taste like real cookie dough balls – but they’re still delightful – or pealightful as Mamma Pea would say.

The Boy isn’t a huge fan – and they don’t really help his snack situation since all schools in York Region are nut free. But I think they’re great.  And because they’re so packed full of goodness they’re surprisingly filling.  I did a hot yoga class a couple weeks ago and nearly died and stuck two in a bag for afterward.  Awesome.  Gave me a little pick-me-up on the go.

Now if only I could eat only these – do you think that would count as cleaning up my eating?

Some other great snacks I’m loving lately:

No-Bake Oatmeal Raisin Carrot Cake Bites – I added some flax to these and the Boy wants me to try and make them drier – so I’m thinking of trying them again with some ground rice cakes.  These are nut-free which is good for school snacks!

I also have some Raw Chocolate Brownies in my freezer right now.  They are not brownies.  They are more like fudge… that you eat with a spoon.  They are very gooey. But good.  Just not brownies.

And of course having a little Avocado Chocolate Mousse on hand never hurt anyone!

I figure if I can make my snacks healthy healthier that’s always a step in the right direction.

What kind of snacks do you love?

Leave a Reply

