Breakfast of Champions

Here’s a little update on how my Clean Eating Challenge has been going so far.  The Bizios is off having her baby – but I did get a passing grade at my last appointment.  The trick is not to fall off the wagon now that I’m not seeing her monthly for a while.

This Clean Eating stuff by the way – while it takes more planning – is pretty darn good. I may not have lost pounds per se but I have lost inches (SCORE!) so much so that I simply had to get a new sundress for the summer since the one I bought last year looks like I’m wearing  a potato sack.

The key? Two words. Limited*. Sugar.  Healthy snacks and/or healthier snacks like the Dairy Queen Blizzards the Boy and I had last night  the two dates and almond butter I’ve been enjoying lately are both filling, sweetly satisfying and don’t give me the sugar high or crash that afternoon cookies do. (*Note the last time I did an allergen free diet I had zero sugar (or as close to it as I could get). I’m not doing that this time because my digestive system is much happier than it was then and absolutely no sugar is a pain in the butt and feels really restrictive.)

The biggest thing that I’ve been doing since the beginning of July is juicing.  Not with a juicer, but with an insanely powerful blender.  Ladies and Gentlemen the Blendtec, made famous by “Will it Blend” YouTube fame has entered my life.  On loan.

Sista has moved home for the summer. Mom has a Blendtec of her own, which meant Sista’s Blendtec was sitting idly by not being used.  So I stole it.  The Boy caught on immediately and said “Why are you bringing another blending device into this apartment!”  He was not happy.  But since my little blender (still a very good one) won’t do what the Blendtec does – I ignored him and to his satisfaction found our new house guest a spot in our tiny kitchen.

Each day I start my morning with the following:

  • 1 beet (this one was pretty big so I only used half)
  • Some celery (about 1 stalk)
  • Some carrot (about 1)
  • 1 Lemon
  • 1 Apple
  • Some kale (or any other green – sometimes I just use the beet leaves)
  • A few frozen strawberries
  • 1 pear
  • 2 tbsp ground flax
  • Some pumpkin seeds
  • 1 zucchini (this was the first time I’d used zucchini – made it kind of creamy)

The secret ingredient?

  • 3 dates (remove the pits)

Everything goes in pretty much whole:

  • I cut the half beet into about 4 chunks – those things are hard and no need to make the blender do all the work.
  • Pit the dates
  • Core the apple and pear
  • Peel the lemon and remove as many seeds as you can.
  • cut the ends off the zucchini

Jam it all into the blender:

You will notice it’s filled right to the top – add some water.

Turn the bad boy on to Whole Juice:

60 seconds. That’s right just 60 SECONDS later you will have this:

You could drink all of it all day.  But I don’t.  I have a glass in the morning at home and take my container to work to sip on all morning.  Then I’ve got about 24oz for tomorrow – and about 5 extra minutes in the morning – score!

It’s juicy. It’s delicious. The contents change every day (or every other day).  The Boy isn’t on board yet – too scared; but I am planning on convincing him through a fruitier concoction just as soon as we have a weekend at home… so August.

Blendtec – if you find this blog be a sport – send me my own.  This one has to go home to it’s owner in September and then I’ll be left with toast and almond butter. It’s just not the same.

 What do you eat/drink for breakfast?

4 responses

  1. Pingback: YouTube Friday Returns! « The Twenties Roar

    • They are expensive LIndsay – about $500. But I’ve definitely been using it WAY more than I would a regular blender. It’s pretty much a food processor/blender/smoothie maker in one. Sista got hers in Toronto at The Big Carrot. But I think most health food stores would have them – VItaMix is another brand that’s great too.

  2. Pingback: New Name, New Year, New Habits? « The Twenties Roar

Leave a Reply

