One Giant To Do List

About 3 weeks ago I had a major “OhmygodwehavesomuchtodoIdon’tevenknowwheretostart” panic attack.

I told my friend over at A Handmade Story that I was basically freaking out and since she did all of this last year she had some words of wisdom.  Make a master to do list.  I liked the idea, but I didn’t really know where to start.  Enter Todoist.com

There’s a handy video to show you how to get started.

And get started I did. I think at the most I’ve had 110 things on my “To Do Before I Do” list.  I’ve been crossing things off and adding more things in as I think of them. And right now I’m at about 70. The tags for the list are brilliant.  I can essentially make sub-lists of “email” “visit” and “call” or “shopping” “rehearsal” and “ceremony.”  I have assigned tasks to other people – but kept them on my list using tags like “mom” “boy” or “wparty.”

 I’ve had a couple new subscribers lately that found me searching for wedding blogs, so for them I say – use todoist. The Knot, and Martha Stewart to do lists are good, but what I was finding as we get closer is there are 5 things that need to be done before I can cross off one thing from either of those checklists. I felt like I was spinning my wheels – doing all of this w-day stuff without getting to move forward in my list, very overwhelming.

But Todoist isn’t just for w-dayers.  I have Todoist lists for “Around the House”  “The Twenties Roar” and “Groceries.”  Better yet, I’ve got an iPhone app for it so I can keep my Todoist list on my phone. Though I must say, the iPhone app could use some work – you can’t sort by the tags on the app. Boo.

Anyway, I thought I’d check in and say – I’m still here. I’m just up to my eyeballs in w-day.  I’ve got some posts to come I just need some time to write them.  Blogging time is coming up… I’ve added it on my to do list!

*FYI I have not been compensated in any way for my review of Todoist, I just came across it and think it's cool. So I thought I'd pass it along.  If you find this post Todoist - feel free to compensate me - I won't mind.
3 responses

  1. Glad you are getting there, having a list is a huge help, otherwise it would all be rattling around your brain.

    I’m a fan of lists, although I use Evernote, which is basically for any kind of notes, it’s great because they have check boxes which I love. I like that I can take a photo of something with my iphone then upload it and the photo text is searchable.

    I have everything on there, to do lists, shopping lists, draft blog posts, recipes, business card record etc etc the best thing is I can access it on any computer or my iphone and it’s all syncd.

    Todoist is built for to do lists so I’m sure it has loads of great features I haven’t even realised I’ve been missing, I like the idea that it has a built in calendar too. I’ll check it out.

    Have a great weekend,
    Jade

  2. I’m totally checking out Evernote this weekend – pictures with notes. That’s just genius.

    Maybe just maybe I’ll keep up my mad organizational skills beyond w-day. I like to think I can do it. The Boy will tell you I’m delusional!

  3. Pingback: ONE MONTH TO GO « The Twenties Roar

Leave a Reply

