More than a Piece of Paper

I’m Back!

I’m married!

I’m officially Mrs. Boy.

I’m different.

You may recall from my post from the night before that I was feeling a little unsure about what would be different once The Boy and I said “All the days of my life.”  I decided we would officially become the F word.  A family.  To be honest I wasn’t exactly sure of the words as I was typing them. I mean, he’s been my family for a long time. Would I really feel any different?

I’m here to tell you friends the answer for me, and for The Boy is an emphatic, absolute,  no doubt about it, bolded, underlined and italic YES!

It took only a few hours I think, adrenaline is a crazy thing and despite a distinct lack of sleep all week, terrible pillows at the hotel, and a really just a series of naps the night before I must say I rocked it all day.  The nervous stomach subsided as soon as that ring was on my finger.  My first words beyond “Thank you” to the 140 people congratulating us outside the church were to my beautiful Sista, “I’m starving! Can someone get me something to eat?!”  Pictures, dinner, dancing, smiling, a small toe cramp situation, more dancing, clean up, a bus ride back to the hotel and finally a moment alone with my new husband. (hehe)

We were lying on the bed in the hotel, after exchanging our gifts and he asked, “Do you feel different?” I said, “Yes. I do. Do you?” He answered, “Yes.  This feels different. I feel different.” and “I’ve never been so happy.”

We agreed, it’s more than a piece of paper. It’s definitely something worth celebrating.  I’m someone’s wife.  The Boy, he is my husband.  The past few days we keep saying it to each other as if trying it on for size.

“Hello husband!”

“How was your day, my wife?”

Our day was perfect. Honestly, aside from a toe cramp on my end and a green finger on The Boy’s end (we’re visiting our jeweler on Sunday!) absolutely everything went off without an issue.  Our venue was beautiful, our venders were awesome, our w-party was everything we needed them to be.  We danced all night long, it really was a perfect day and a perfect wedding.

All of the work, and 10 months of planning, the stress the week or two before, all of it – totally worth it.

I am someone’s wife.  The Boy, he is my husband. It feels different.  It’s a feeling in my heart and in my gut. It matters. The piece of paper matters. It’s different. I’m different. We’re different.

It’s more than a piece of paper.

Housekeeping notes:

This is one of two sneak peek pictures I have from our second photographer, Brian Van der Pryt, if you have photography needs in the Windsor area – let me know I’ll hook you up!  I’m so excited to see them all I can hardly stand it!

A full recap to come, but I think so as not to overwhelm I’ll stick with my plan and tell our story through Wedding Wednesdays.  That should at least give me a few weeks to get more pictures from people!

3 responses

  1. Awesome post Meaghan! The day was amazing and you guys looked incredible!!! Congrats once again, can’t wait to see all the photos when they are finished.

  2. This photo is stunning, as are the bride and groom in it. I love this post too! Although I have slowly been changing my mind over the last year, I used to believe that marriages were unnecessary, and `just a piece of paper.` It was so refreshing to read from someone that it does in fact mean way more than that. Thanks for this!

Leave a Reply

