The Day Before The Day Before

It’s Wedding Wednesday, and I’m going to cheat just a little bit because we get our proofs back tonight and I’m so excited about adding beautiful photos to Wedding Wednesdays that I’d hate to post something today and have the perfect picture to go along with it tomorrow.

So instead, I’ll tell you a little story about the day before the day before.  There aren’t any pictures to accompany it – though I should have taken a self-portrait because my outfit was rockin’ it!

I’ve been at the same job for about 2.5 years and a few times this year I found myself pulling out my hair and thinking “If only I wasn’t planning a wedding I could be spending time job searching – but alas earwax that will just have to be put off until after W-day.”  A couple of months ago my wonderful brother found himself unemployed and spending his days searching websites for possible opportunities and he came across one that he forwarded to me.  It closed July 25.  I think he sent it to  me around July 20.

To be completely honest… I debated.  I thought –  “The timing isn’t great because if they interview right away, then I’m interviewing, hopefully getting it, quitting, starting a new job and oh yeah – getting married all in the same month and I just might lose my mind.” Nevertheless I told The Boy about it.  His response? “If you don’t apply to this job we’re not getting married.” 

He’s so dramatic.

So, I applied and then I waited. And the more I waited the more I wanted it.  The more I wanted it the more I visualized myself there. And let’s be honest the hypothetical math (*that’s the math you do with the salary range when you really have no idea how much tax etc will be taken off) was pretty awesome.

I couldn’t take it anymore.  In mid-August I called and asked if they had timelines or if they had already called successful candidates and I was not one of them.

They called back and told me, due to summer vacation schedules they were moving a bit slowly – but I was going to be asked for an interview.  (Yeah!)

“Would September 8th work for you?”

Crap.

September 8th, was the day before the day before and the last thing I thought I would like to be doing that day is interviewing for a new job. But given The Boy’s threat to call the whole thing off – I agreed.

So I spent the day before the day before in a beautiful purple skirt, polka dot top, blue blazer and heels interviewing for a new job.

Have you heard about wedding-brain?  Well it’s not a myth and try to get through an interview with wedding-brain which is basically a brain that has turned to mush due to too many lists…. it’s not great. 

I don’t recommend it.

My report post-interview was mediocre.  I never think they go particularly well but this one was really formal and extremely difficult to read how well I had done.  Plus, you never know who else they’re interviewing so how am I supposed to know how it went?! Bah!

Turns out – it went pretty well. I am now wrapping up my last two weeks at my current job and I start my new one exactly 1 month after being married.

The benefit of having an interview the day before the day before (if there is one) is once it was over – it was over. I moved on to the 30 lists running through my brain.

And I spent the next two days being completely present, loving The Boy and his orange tie.

How did you spend the day before the day before?

7 responses

  1. YAY! Congratulations!! 😀 Plus, you get extra points for being brave enough to take on that extra ‘little’ thing just before your big day. lol.

  2. Congrats on the new job! Sounds like you have so many new, exciting things going on in your life. Enjoy! PS: I would loved to have seen your interview outfit, it sounds spectacular!

  3. Pingback: The Week Before « The Twenties Roar

  4. Pingback: One More Week « The Twenties Roar

Leave a Reply

