Happy 300!

Today, is my 300th post.

Turns out time really does fly.

I was going to tell you a little story about how The Boy and I spent our first weekend as a married couple away from each other and I got a series of heart-warming “I miss you” messages all weekend (he’s so sappy!) which meant that I had to forgive him for choosing not to answer the phone when I called him because the car died and I needed help trying to figure out the magic spot to futz with in order to get it going again.

Then I thought about telling you a little story about our apartment, and that we’ve added one more point to the “reasons we need to move” list – we have no heat and I slept in full flannel and wool socks on last night and refused to get out of bed this morning because it was absolutely freezing.

But instead I think I’ll dedicate my 300th post to this beautiful woman.

This is my Nanny.  And while I may have (officially) adopted 2 new grandparents a few weeks ago on W-day – she’s my original.  She’s the only one I had growing up and while the new ones are awesome and I love them dearly – no one can take the place of my Nanny.

Where would I be without my mother? Where would any of us be? We wouldn’t exist at all. And the same would be true for my mom without hers. (Of course I could keep going back but this isn’t about my great-great-great-great-great-grandmother – it’s about my Nanny).

This is obviously her on W-day.  While she looked ravishing she was in quite a bit of pain that day, and 9 short days after this picture she had a hip replacement.  She’s a trooper and is recovering slowly and still in hospital. Her biggest set back is she thinks she’s still 55 and not 86 years old! (Saying a little prayer that my skin looks that awesome at 86!) When I spoke with her the night before he surgery she was nervous but told me “I’ll be a whole new woman this time tomorrow” I told her it was probably going to be a little longer than 24 hours before she felt like a whole new woman, but she didn’t pay any attention.

And you know, that’s one of the great things about her if you think about it. While she is now horribly frustrated that she isn’t springing back like the 60-year-old in the bed across from her, or her 62-year-old neighbour down the hall in her condo – she’s a fighter, and I love that about her.

So, if you could send a positive recovering thought in the direction of my Nanny today.  As we continue to visit with her and remind her of all the work those 86-year-old hips have done over the years – it’s going to take a while,  but I have no doubt she’ll be back in action and feeling like a whole new woman soon.

Could your hips carry 10 children? I doubt it.

 

Happy 300th post to The Twenties Roar – (I would say cheers to 300 more… but the twenties are quickly running away from me! )

All photos from the wonderfully talented David West of West Photo – don’t take what isn’t yours, but do call him if you’re getting married in York Region!

2 responses

  1. Okay…it has been far too long, so I have a lot to say to you, so please bear with this long comment. I have missed reading your blog so much. You are married now, finally! Last time I read you were still doing the count down! I can`t wait to read all the details and see some photos. So, although it is long overdue, sending you a big congrats on your wedding. You look gorgeous in this photo, which I hope is the first of many. Your Nanny also looks gorgeous, stunning really considering she is 86! I used to nurse on orthopedic surgery, so I know all about what she is going through. I am sending lots of positive vibes her way. Having a major joint replaced at such a ripe age is no easy task. I have to say though, in my experience, it was the elderly ladies who healed the fastest and got back to walking at their normal pace. They outshone the middle aged men by far. Trust me. Also, congrats on your 300th post! I am about to work my way though all of the posts I have missed over the last several weeks, so this is your warning to be prepared for a major influx of comments 🙂

Leave a Reply

