When a Knitter Loves You

Okay blogosphere, I’ve done it. I’ve listed all of the topics/little stories that I want/need to share/remember with you/me. Was that clear? Let me explain – I’m no Pioneer Woman, (yet) and that means that this blog remains just as much for you as for me. And that is a polite way of saying, you’re going to be hearing about this wedding for a long time.

Like, probably about a year.

The good news is  I’m going to spare you and you’ll only have to read about it once a week.

The bad news is you might be really sick of hearing about it by the our one year anniversary.

The best news is you’ll feel like you were there.

I knew you’d be thrilled.

So with that warning in place – you can’t say I didn’t tell you. Let’s begin.

When a knitter gets married after the initial thoughts of dress, venue, bridal party, the next one in line is what am I going to knit? You saw the yarn ball tutorial early on. I’ll report that I did make them, and they were lovely but I didn’t overkill it – we had a lot of flowers and flowers are just as pretty as balls of yarn. Instead I brought yarn to our bridal party, and I may have bitten off a little more than I could chew… err knit.

Now, it didn’t seem like that much. Four attendants on each side + our emcee + the Boy 10 items. We had a 10 month engagement, that’s only 1 item per month. I was prepared to do even better than that, convincing myself I would have everything finished by my birthday (6 months) and then by the Boy’s birthday (7 months) and then… well let’s just say, they were all made with love but I did require some back up. (For any engaged knitters out there I will only advise that you keep in mind that while it doesn’t seem like a lot you will be doing this little thing called planning a wedding while you are trying to churn out 1 item a month.)

For the girls, my girls I slaved away and can happily report that their hand knit gifts were all made by my two hands. They were all unique just like them. And they were all made with love – I really tried not to knit on days where I was regretting the decision to make hand knit gifts for 10 people all while planning a wedding. Instead I saved the knitting for calmer days when I was happily knitting at home, at work, in the car, at my parents, at the Boy’s parents… you get the idea. Each girl got a pair of orange and grey mittens and a small bottle of knit soap so they wouldn’t ruin them the first time they throw them in the wash… SIL I’m looking at you. The cuffs and thumbs all matched so they go as a set, but each pattern was different.

For the boys, I called in some back up and luckily I had happlily obliging knitters to come to my rescue and knit up some socks. Four grey, one orange – but the orange were still on the needles during the photoshoot… which was about 24 hours before they were gifted.  Finished by May, not so much.

For The Boy, I of course knit his myself. In front of him. He even commented at one point – “Who gets those ones? They’re fancy and they have a cable. You must love that person the most.” I told him they were only fancy because I was getting bored. And while I didn’t see his face when he opened them I like to think he was surprised.

The Boy's Socks Orange and Gray fancies

So what did all that knitting amount to?

A lot of love for the bride. Of course The Boy had very little to do with this thank you so I we decided that he should gift the attendents something as well – so they would have love from each of us.

Curious? You’ll have to check back next week (see this is going to be fun!). For now, let’s all marvel at those beautiful knits. And nod our heads in recognition as to why the K1P1 page hasn’t been updated since Christmas.

One of these days when the sight of the orange and gray yarn doesn’t give me heart palpitations perhaps I’ll knit a few more sets of mittens, for myself, and the Boy, and… this is how it starts.

And so you don’t have to wait until next summer…. another w-day picture

Another beauty by West Photo

The knit wear photos are mine – sorry about the lack of artsyness, there may have been a time crunch involved.

The w-picture is from the wonderful David West.  Don’t take what’s not yours, but do call if you’re getting married!

3 responses

  1. Pingback: A Gift from the Groom « The Twenties Roar

  2. Pingback: One More Week « The Twenties Roar

Leave a Reply

