Nothing like a strike

I started the new job. I decreased my commute from 4.5km to 1.5km. I thought I would walk.

I haven’t.

I know this is terrible. The Boy reminds me how terrible this is for not only the environment but the car. I know this, but I have quickly become accustomed to coming home for lunch and watching Live With Kelly!  What’s a girl to do?

There has been a transit strike on right now. It’s terrible.  For everyone involved.  For strikers – come on, no one likes being on strike especially in the weeks before Christmas. Not fun. These guys have been out for 7 weeks. Even if they get what they want as far as pay increases (unlikely) they are not going to be able to make that up. 7 weeks is a long time and they’re not even talking.  For commuters – this transit strike is a nightmare.  There are a few buses running which are of course packed to the gills during rush hour – but for the majority of transit riders who are low-income and rely on public transit to get around this sucks… big time.

For the most part the strikers haven’t really been picketing.  A little bit here and there, but not much.  They haven’t really wanted to annoy people more than they already are.  But at 7 weeks, they’ve got to do something.  So they’ve started.

Picketing during rush hour and my 1.5km commute took me 30 minutes yesterday morning, and 20 minutes to come home.

Boo.

So, since I get incredibly frustrated when I’m sitting idling in my car killing the environment and my sanity today… I’m walking.

Turns out all it took was a strike.

Who wants to take bets on how long this lasts?

Leave a Reply

