The Night Before – For the Bride

Like I said, the day before was nutso. Not only was I spotted like a celebrity, but I ran around like a fool.

I found the picture - look how tired I look!

I dropped bags at the hotel, had a manicure, set up the entire venue décor (okay, that really wasn’t that bad – flowers were all delivered Saturday and it’s not like we were setting tables), and cleaned the apartment (I really was wishing I didn’t have to add that to the list, but the boys were getting ready there – which meant pictures and friends of ours were crashing there instead of the hotel, it needed to be clean). By the time my mom called in a panic that there weren’t enough rooms at the hotel (there were it was just complicated because I booked them all under one credit card but they were being paid for with another) I was done.  DONE.

I settled myself into my room and started delegating. I sent family in from out of town to pick up my Grandmother, I asked BFF Kate to try and pick up chocolate for the day after party chocolate fountain. I laid in the lovely king size bed by myself and tried to close my eyes for a quick nap.

It didn’t happen.

Instead of sleeping the night away as I may have preferred I went out for dinner with some family that was in from out of town including this lovely lady, my Great Aunt Doreen.  I love her. She’s a redhead too and whenever I see her she says “Helloooo Red!”  Two of her daughters brought her from Detroit to be part of our day and I was so happy to have this dinner to actually spend a little time with them.


Also included in the pre-wedding festivities, Sista and all bridesmaids with the exception of BFF Kristyn who was very sad to miss it, but had a very legitimate reason for missing out. Mom, of course and Almost MIL, and Nanny.  We went to Aqua Grill in Aurora which as always was delicious but super busy, and the service was REALLY slow.  I think the problem was two fold: 1. they were trying to give us lots of time to chat and socialize and not make us feel rushed at all (normally appreciated) and 2. we were starving.  Once again eating was not really my priority that day and everyone was really hungry which meant that while they were being polite we were cursing their politeness.

Nonetheless it was delicious.  We chatted and had a really relaxing evening, and after returning to the hotel enjoyed a pre-wedding night cap.

I mentioned this before but my American out-of-towners are super-d-duper Catholic and LOVE LOVE LOVE Mother Mary.  So while everyone was enjoying a little Harvey’s Bristol Cream, and I was putting wedding dinner music on a USB stick and crossing other rediculous things off my list, one of my mom’s cousins took her drink downstairs poured a little bit on the ground and said a Hail Mary.  This was all to ensure not that we would have a blessed life (that apparently is a given) but that I would enjoy sunny skies and good hair on my wedding day.

I’m not quite sure where that is written in the Bible but it totally worked so whatever!

I headed back to my hotel room settled in and wrote my last blog post as a single girl.

1 more sleep!

One response

Leave a Reply

