The Night Before – The Groom

(*Author’s note – I know, this was supposed to be posted last week.  I waited trying to remember to take the pictures from The Boy’s phone into the post.  But now it’s Wedding Wednesday again and The Boy is out on the town so wait no more… I guess what happens in Alliston, stays in Alliston.)

The night before for the Boy was slightly different than mine.  He was a little stressed when I left him in the morning, but headed north for a round of golf with my dad, his dad, a groomsman, my brother, all of my uncles and a few of their wives.  I think there were about 12 of them or so. He insists he was having a terrible round until about the 4th hole (coincidentally that is the hole my parent’s live on) when he chugged a beer and things got much better from there.

The biggest inconvenience for the Boy around the whole wedding deal was its effect on his golf game.  It went in the crapper for about 2 weeks before and he was not happy about it.  Much beer was enjoyed by all, as I understand it – apparently my brother was incoherent by the time they were off the course and the Boy was not far behind him.

Dad planned a delicious Man Feast of steak, potatoes and Caesar Salad, and then they broke out into games of poker.  Most of the groomsmen were able to join in the festivities by dinner time, which the Boy really appreciated – he was getting pretty nervous and they all ensured that with the help of some Steamwhistle they would take his mind right off his nervousness… I believe they succeeded.

It’s difficult to tell who won the poker games since there seems to be prize presentation pictures with everyone that was there, but in the end, the Boy walked away with most if not all the money and both $50 gift cards to Golf Town – score!

By 1am my Dad took on the role of responsible adult and sent the boys to bed. I think a few heads were hurting in the morning.

The Boy wants everyone to know that he had an awesome day and night before.  He was so appreciative to everyone that came to hang out with him. While he was excited to get married, he hates being in the spotlight especially in a church and he was really couldn’t wait for the whole thing to be over!  His number one fear was that he was going to pass out at the front of the church (he didn’t).

1 more sleep for The Boy!

One response

Leave a Reply

