365 Photo Challenge

So this was on my 101 in 1001 list.  And I tried it when we got engaged – I thought, I’ll have so many things to take pictures of this will be so easy. Lies.  Not easy.  Not easy at all.

Here is why this photo challenge is just that – challenging.

1. Some days I don’t do anything.
2. I don’t always remember to bust out my camera
3. iPhone photos while pretty good are not always all that great – especially daily.
4. Using strictly my iPhone doesn’t teach me anything about our real camera.

But it’s on the list for a reason, so I’m determined to make it work.  I found a theme list, that is a list of 365 photo themes that I can try to capture over the year.  I think what got me frustrated the first time I tried was I was looking for some way to capture the whole day in a single photo… and some days I just don’t do much that’s photo worthy in my humble opinion.  Get up, shower, make breakfast, go to work, come home, make dinner, knit, blog, talk to The Boy, read, go to sleep.  Sorry, call me boring but that’s just life some days.

This is why I like the theme idea. It takes the pressure off capturing my whole day in one photo. But of course I need to put my own spin on it so this is my plan.

See the new tab – 365 photos.  I’ve listed the themes there, and I will hyperlink them as I cross them off to my weekly photo challenge update, which will happen on Mondays.  I’m not holding myself to those themes specifically and you might find that I add a new theme if one that is there really doesn’t capture the picture I’ve taken.  Some will be on my iPhone but I’m really going to try and take as many as possible with our Nikon. What’s more – I’m hoping this forces me to take the plunge and switch the camera off automatic – prepare for some terrible pictures.

I started January 1.  And if all goes well, by December 31, 2012 I should have a decent handle on how our camera works.  I’m going to try and get the Boy to participate too – I know he won’t take one everyday, but I’ll let you know which ones are his.  I’m totally fine with the 365 being a somewhat joint effort.

So without further adieu – here is week one

January 1 – Glass

January 2 – Determination


January 3 – Anticipation

January 4 – Kitchen – (or the day I wished we had a dishwasher!)


January 5 – Purge


January 6 – Heat


January 7 – Skating


January 8 – Jealous

One response

Leave a Reply

