Puppy or Baby?

Which one do you think is easier to manage?

The Boy was puppy sitting Molly the other day since all of her regularly scheduled people were going to be out all day and Mom felt like it was a long time to leave the baby.  So she brought her by on her way downtown for The Boy to watch.  He was so excited about his date “with his girlfriend” as he put it.  But when she got to our house… M for Meltdown.  The little dog was so sad.  Crying and whining and generally would not settle.

I came home at lunch and she was thrilled to see me, mostly she likes to bite my hair, but even that was short-lived, she just wandered around the apartment making sad little noises.

We tried everything, playing, taking her out to pee, we even took her for a 20 minute walk (a long time for those little legs).

Nada.

How can a 3lb little ball of fluff be so demanding?

Mom forgot to send some food with her, so the Boy resolved that she must be hungry/stressed to be out of her house so he packed up her stuff (she came with a substantial amount for an afternoon) and took her home to Alliston.  Back to her house. Back to her brother Denver.

While we were walking her (so awkward BTW she’s so small and underfoot all the time it’s crazy!) we passed by a friend/neighbour who just had a baby.  Little Issac was 4 weeks old and sleeping soundly, as we stopped to chat with her, Molly started to whine again.  We exchanged details about our new little ones, and this mom of 2, a three year old and a 4 week old actually said – “I don’t envy you – I’d rather take a baby than a puppy”

Really?

Molly really hasn’t been that bad (says the person who is not getting up with her at night), she is into everything of course, but she is also super cute and cuddly which obviously makes it okay. When I came home and the Boy was freaking out that he couldn’t get the dog to stop crying it made me laugh in my head and think – is this is a glimpse into my future? How are you ever going to handle a baby if you can’t handle a puppy for an hour!  So this thought that the baby would actually be easier really threw me way off.

I’ve never agreed with “we’ll get a puppy to practice for a baby” the whole idea makes no sense to me, but if it’s true a baby is easier than a puppy – maybe a puppy is good practice?

So I’m putting it to you new mommies out there – and I know you’re out there.  Which do you think is easier, new baby or new puppy?

2 responses

  1. Is your friend not a dog lover? My brother-in-law would probably say it’s easier to have a baby than a cat, because he was terrorized by scary, scary cat named Marmalade and hasn’t gotten over it. *However*, he wasn’t the one getting up a million times every night and having hallucinations from prolonged, extreme sleep-deprivation. Does your friend have champion sleepers on her hands? If so, I’m jealous. I’ve just discovered there is something called “four month sleep regression.” Ugggghhh.

  2. I’m going to go with new puppy as being easier. I could probably come up with a long list of reasons why, but I think your friend may have forgotten about the 9 months of pregnancy, the labour and delivery, the weight gain and countless sleepless nights that goes along with having a baby. Don’t get me wrong, I love my little guy, but for those reasons my vote is for puppy! It’s good practice though for you and the boy!

Leave a Reply

