Hurry Up and Wait

We left off with hair complete and heading back to the hotel, with a quick detour to pick up lunch for the girls and the boys from Edward Street Bistro. It was delish – or so I was told… though I tried, food was not my friend on w-morning/afternoon.

Once we all rendezvoused back at the hotel it was time to get this party started.

We put on my wedding mix, Sista hit up the local Starbucks seeking out a Chai Tea IV drip, and then we sat around and waited.

And waited.

And waited.

As beautiful Anita took each and every lovely lady, including both moms and the Nanny and turned us from naturally beautiful to simply stunning.

But beautifying 8 women makes for a slow morning for those not in the chair.  I didn’t really think about this part in the planning process.  I was ready to go – let’s GO GO GO! My stomach is in knots let’s just get this party started!  But no.  We had to wait. And wait.

And wait.

And wait.

So, what did we do?  Well, we talked babies with BFF Kristyn.  BFF Kate’s man-friend ran some errands for us.  I checked in with some family members arriving from out-of-town.  Kristyn and I did some yoga breathing.  Sista wrote her speech.  Erin had a beer.

And I told each girl at some point that I loved them and thanked them for being there.  And that they looked beautiful.  All true.

I checked in with the Boy and tried to calm his nerves by reminding him that I would be at the front of the church too and he wasn’t alone in his nervous stomach.  I also told him to drink some water and eat something (words I should have listened to myself). I sent messages to the Boy’s boys since I didn’t actually print off the schedules and jobs I typed out for them – yes I really did that.  I put one in charge of making sure he ate something and another in charge of keeping him calm and hydrated.  (I had tried to put another in charge of making sure he didn’t drink too much the night before… it didn’t work but he did make it to the church on time and was long past feeling hung over and that’s all I ask really).

So what would I suggest for the morning/hours before the big moment?

Get an order down for photos. We went with the “whoever sits in the chair next gets their makeup done next” method.  What we should have done?  Made a logical order and stuck to it. Specifically I probably should have been done earlier and Sista probably should have been done earlier.  Our lovely photographer had to hurry up and wait a bit himself, which I felt bad about – if I was ready to go a bit earlier all of those bridal photos might not have felt so rushed.

In the end we all got to the church on time and we all looked stunning.  Win/win!

*I know I missed last week – so next week 2 posts! Both with LOTS of pictures!!! You’re welcome.

All photos are the wonderful work of West Photo – enjoy, but don’t take what’s not yours.

3 responses

      • The bath did look amazing – totally didn’t use it. 😦 Thought about it – REALLY should have, but it was SO late and we were SOOOOO tired by the time we got back that the thought of waiting for the GIANT tub to fill up, exhausting. We’ll have to book ourselves a suite for our first anniversary or something. Sometime when we’re not too tired to reap the benefits!

Leave a Reply

