This is why we call it Northern Ontario

I’m out on location this week folks! Okay, not really this week.  Just a couple days.  And it’s not really on location – since I live too close to the event, so I don’t qualify to stay “on location.”  But I am on my first real big girl job conference in the big beautiful city of Toronto.  And to save myself another morning of getting up in the 5s – that’s right THE FIVES – I’m staying with Sista overnight and soaking up all the city I can muster.

Yesterday, I took the GO train South, and felt like a true suburban commuter, putting to the test my claims that I wouldn’t mind being a public transit commuter.  Well, it was okay.  I still claim I could do it everyday, but why would you want to is the bigger question.  Sure I got to listen to a book for an hour while I drifted in and out of an extra hour of sleep. But do you know what’s better than that? Sleeping that extra hour+ in my bed and driving 2 minutes to work.  If I really wanted to listen to a book each morning there’s nothing stopping me from putting it on the stereo while I get ready, or God forbid walking to work (I promise I will when the weather gets nicer – Scout’s honour.)

I didn’t mind the view…

my 7:09am view

But I could do without it.

What I’ve been loving all week is being reconnected with my city.  It makes me say – Newmarket? Who are you trying to fool? You are no Toronto.  The ‘burbs work for the Boy and I entirely because we are close to work, but if we weren’t – there’s no way I would do the 3 hour round-trip commute each day, we’d be citified all the way.

In honour of my renewed love I give you top 10 reasons Newmarket is not Toronto.

  1. There isn’t a Starbucks on every corner of Newmarket, and they look at you like you have three heads when your order is complicated.  In Toronto, my app tells me there’s 3 within walking distance of my conference all are bubbling with fellow city-dwellers who are just as Chai Tea Latte with Soy, Extra Hot, No Water, No Foam loving as I am.
  2. The smell.  Toronto stinks this week.  Likely due to the crazy warm weather the river is thawing and it stinks like spring. It’s disgusting and industrial but passing. Springtime in the ‘burbs smells like manure all the time – which is just gross.
  3. Sista and I went for a walk last night and there were about a dozen different stores that I want to come back and wander  through.  On our nightly Newmarket stroll, there is 1.  It’s the yarn store on Main Street. And the Boy won’t let me go in there every night.
  4. Speaking of yarn – I may have snuck into The Purple Purl yesterday post-doctor’s appointment – pre-conference.  It was glorious! I may have gotten so overwhelmed by the potential that I only bought a skein of sock yarn and vowed to come back with back-up opinions. Toronto is great because their yarn stores have character and are plentiful.
  5. Sista’s apartment is adorable – bigger and for less people.  Weird.  It is substantially more money but come on, totally worth it.
  6. There are a MILLION restaurants.  On our walk of one block I saw at least 8 that I would want to try. In N-dot, we’ve got one of each type.  And that’s it.
  7. Everything is SO close. And I’ve been reminded of my love of the TTC monthly pass. Want to go somewhere? Jump on public transit.  Touchy subject public transit in the ‘burbs right now (though they are back to work after 3 months of being on strike) but even when it is up and running at full steam – it’s not convenient to use at all.
  8. AND I got to go on a new subway train…. and even though it still smelled like BO and urine – it’s the consistencies in this crazy city that are just part of its charm.
  9. The city by day and the city by night.  My conference is in an area of the city that I have only really experienced at night in the last 10 years.  It’s so interesting to see it by the light of day.  You guys know my hatred of Winners and other such rummagey stores but the Winners on Front Street looks like a cute little boutique.  Winners in Newmarket scares me. And don’t get me started on the “night life” in Newmarket – non-existent or nightmarish take your pick.  All I’m asking for is just one little pub that doesn’t scream townie – is that too much to ask?
  10. One word.  Gelato.  Toronto has one on every corner.  Newmarket – nada.  Enough said.

Tomorrow I return to my suburban life, and sure there are things I like about it, like our skating rink and our farmer’s market.  But this week I have simply been reminded that Toronto has those things too, only more and bigger, and all year round.  Newmarket, is really just kidding itself.

It’s not Toronto.

Not even a little.

 

One response

  1. Pingback: You burb I burb we all scream for the suburbs | The GTA Patriot

Leave a Reply

