Fast Five Friday – All hail Dr. Suess

The Lorax (film)

The Lorax (film) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The Boy and I went last weekend to see The Lorax. I know, after my love affair with the Hunger Games you would think we would be there at the opening show. I might have been, but the Boy hates crowds and doesn’t see the point. I can’t really argue. My life won’t end if I don’t see movies I’ve been looking forward to on the opening weekend. I’m a big girl. I can wait. Not for long though – we’re totally going to see it SOON. In the meantime though we spent a kind of dreary Saturday at The Lorax. We may have been the only people there without littles under the age of 5 in tow. Meh. I’m not bothered by it. 5 year-olds just know where it’s at!

I love kids movie. LOVE them! And I love love love the Doctor. Suess that is. I know, the language is a bit nonsensical, and that can be annoying to some. But to those people I say – 1. Get over it. 2. Where’s your sense of imagination? 3. Take a minute and really listen to what the good Doctor is saying to you. He’s got some good stuff in there.

But first – a quick movie review. The Boy really liked the story, (he didn’t really grow up with the Suess like I did and had never heard of the Lorax before), but it wasn’t his favourite movie. I blame the migraine aura that started about half-way through for him. How can he concentrate on the goodness when anticipating the badness? I loved it for it’s far greater comment on consumerism than the book. I found it really relevant and expanded in all the right places. I say, grab yourself a 5 year old if you’re not man enough to go yourself and go see it.  I mean it’s got Betty White – how can you go wrong?

Anyway, this is getting to be not so fast – here are my 5 favourite Dr. Suess words of wisdom:

1. A person’s a person no matter how small.

2. Today you are you. That’s truer than true. There’s no one alive who is youer than you.

3. I know up on top you are seeing great sights, but down here at the bottom we, too, should have rights.

4. We’re all a little weird, and life’s a little weird, and when we find someone whose weirdness is compatible with ours, we join up with them and fall in mutual weirdness and call it love.

and in tribute to the Lorax and this weekend’s Earth Hour:

5. Unless someone like you, cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to change. It’s not.

Leave a Reply

