Predicting the Future

First things First.  A little housekeeping.

  1. I have renamed my blog. I won’t reveal until Monday – D-day if you will. But the blog has a name. Thank goodness. Creativity on a deadline is truly a bitch!  Luckily I will never have to go through that again.  That is your clue.  This new blog name is permanent.
  2. I’m hoping that sometime between now and Monday I will be able to figure out a way to transfer from The Twenties Roar to – New Blog Title without messing up your subscriptions, Google Reader settings etc. etc.  I’m not feeling terribly confident that I’m going to be able to do it – so if I can’t, please accept my 1000 apologies and follow the link to the new blog where you can subscribe again.  That is the worst case scenario – I’m really hoping I can figure it out on my own and it won’t inconvenience anyone. Fingers Crossed.
  3. I have made another 2 recipes from Vegan Cooking for Carnivores – this is my review, Ellen and Portia are seriously lucky that Roberto Martin is their chef.  Seriously this book is so yummy!

Alright. Now that that’s out of the way and we looked back on the Twenties –  let’s look forward shall we?

Now, life goals or bucket list type things – I’m not so much about those yet.  I don’t really have the ability to think that far ahead. And also planning things to do before I die = creepy.

So instead I’m going to go with things I’m looking forward to about my thirties. In general.  No specific time frames. (Read – Mom and Mom-in-Law don’t get too excited about some of these things)

  1. Feeling like I’ve got a PL.  What’s a PL? It’s the first half of PLAN. The twenties are “exciting” or “filled with anxiety” depending on your outlook and for me the most stressful part of what is supposed to be exciting is not having even a P. Never mind putting ducks in a row, for most of my twenties I didn’t have ducks. Or a pond. Or anything.  I went to school for the majority of the decade, and with post-graduation came a lot of feelings that I was behind the 8-ball in general.  I looked at people I went to High School with who had big kid jobs, were getting married and buying houses and I felt like I was falling behind… fast.  Of course the rational part of me would say I did more school than most – but sometimes the rational brain doesn’t really kick in full blast. Anyway, I don’t really feel like that anymore.  Sure now I have friends who have husbands, and houses, and babies – maybe it’s because I can see those things on the horizon, or maybe I’m just feeling oddly calm and positive today – but I don’t really feel like I’m behind.  I’ve got a PL, and that’s good enough.
  2. Working in an organization that has opportunity for movement. I know I can’t rule the world right away, but I’ve found myself on the receiving end of some very nice comments in my first 6 months at the new job. “People” (I don’t know who) are “noticing my ability to write.” I don’t know what this means or what opportunities these “people” have in mind. But the fact that I know opportunities exist is pretty great.  I think it’s probably helping with the calm feelings about the PL.
  3. Being healthy.  I’ve been sick and on antibiotics for most of my Twenties.  Nothing super serious – I’m not dying or anything, but it’s definitely taken a toll on my system.  I’ve spent the last 4 years fighting to get things under control, and it’s going well – but I’m looking forward to having it go well and then some.  The Boy is probably reading this and thinking – “Oh God, we’re going to cut out meat even more!” and planning his speech about how he’s not becoming a vegetarian.  Calm down Boy.  No one asked you to be a vegetarian.  I think every person’s food “journey” is a personal one, and all I’m saying is I’m looking forward to continuing on that path of wellness.
  4. Travel.  The Boy and I have been nowhere.  That’s not true. As a kid I have seen most of Canada – it’s a pretty awesome country, and various cities in the US.  The Boy has been to Florida, Calgary and Mt. Tremblant.  That’s about it. While I’m hoping we can cross an ocean sooner rather than later, I’ll be happy with the ability to discover new places with The Boy. Canada, United States, Sunny Island in the middle of winter or top of the Eiffel Tower – I’ll take any of it.
  5. Family.  When I was thinking back on my Twenties I was reminded of how many times a member of my immediate family tried to check out early.  I don’t like that. While we were all extremely close to start with, I’m looking forward to that continuing without the various health crises.  Do you hear that family? I’m predicting everyone is going to stay healthy and we will continue to be ridiculously close. Please do your part.  Thank you.
  6. Family 2.0. Yes, it’s true.  At some point The Boy and I will expand our little family.  Not now.  Not even soon. But sometime.  I’m looking forward to that. That is all.

Six things. Should we take bets on how many things pan out? I’m obviously hopeful that they all do – because honestly, I don’t think they’re a whole lot to ask. But I’m pretty certain they won’t all go smoothly, or maybe they will go smoothly but not in the particular smooth way I think they should. That’s life right?!

 

What do you think? Do big birthdays make you revisit your PLAN (or PL if that’s all you’ve got so far)?

Also – has anyone out there transitioned a blog? If you can help me out – I’d love you forever.  I don’t have much, but I do have knit-wear. Anyone?!

 

One response

  1. Hi Megs
    Nice blog this morning. I plan on staying around for the foreseeable future and if vegan/vegetarianism helps us get there, then so be it! What recipes did you try. I have slow moving men to convert here. Although I did make an awesome pasta last night – they added pork tenderloin so everyone was happy. Love Mom xxxxxooooo

Leave a Reply

