At the Table

Guests sat down to place cards that were colour coded by meal choice. It’s really likely that no one noticed that except for me, but it made me calmer.  It likely didn’t help the catering staff any, since I had already provided them a spreadsheet with each person’s name, meal and location at the table. But like I said, it made me feel better.

In addition to their place card, at each guest found a box of two truffles with one of three tags on it,

And a personal and heartfelt thank you from The Boy and I. I saw this idea on a blog post over at Style Me Pretty and fell in love.  Since as the bride and groom you don’t really get the chance to talk to everyone as much as you would like and you really don’t get to give a heart-felt thank you to each and every person, I loved that this gave me the opportunity to really think about why each person was there and what we wanted them to know about how we felt about them.  We were genuinely so touched that so many people travelled from out-of-town and across the country to be with us on our wedding day. We wanted every person that was in the room, in the room – and were thrilled they were able to make it. So we told them.

I debated FOREVER how to put together all the information I wanted at the table and finally decided to go the SUPER easy route and print it all on a prefolded silvery/gray card.  Done.

At each table the card held their table name and symbol on the outside, and inside the evening’s menu

And a description of what we were doing as a thank you.

Now you might be thinking, but wait – aren’t the truffles your thank you.  Yes, they were. But our lovely friend Carley made all 300 truffles as a wedding gift to us, so were able to do both. We made a $175 donation to Kiva, so every other table had the story of a different woman entrepreneur – 7 in total. I’m also happy to report that as of last week we have reinvested in another 5 entrepreneurs and 3 of our original loans have been paid back in full.  I love Kiva – it is an awesome concept.

The last little touch was custom-made M&Ms in orange and gray on each table. They had our initials, “I Do” 9-10-11 and various pictures.  They were so sweet (and delicious) and were not only a fun addition, but a throw back to the M&M machine that lives in my parent’s basement that is always full when there is a party.  It’s not a family party without M&Ms.

There was of course one more big touch that really made the room – and that of course, is the flowers…

Leave a Reply

