Flowers – Oh the Flowers!!

Our flowers were done by two different vendors, one for bouquets and boutenierres as well as the large flower arrangements for the head table and church and a whole other person for the centrepieces.

Both were stunning.

The bouquets etc. were done by a local store Cassidy’s in Newmarket.  They were exceited about my orange and gray vision but I had a few doubts.  First, when we went to confirm everything what I thought was generating a brainstorm list turned out to be the actual list of all the different types of flowers that would be in each bouquet.  So much for simple. Second, when I picked up the flowers for the cake they were arranged in really old-school traditional round toppers. To be honest I dropped them off with the cake lady and told her – feel free to pull them apart and use what you want… she did.  It may have lead to a small panic attack on my end but to be honest, by that point – what was I going to do about it?  Nothing.  So I hoped for the best and moved on.

However, when they were delivered OMG stunning.

The church flowers were traditional and nothing to really write home about as far as blow your mind fantastic in a church but once they were brought to the venue and combined with the smaller arrangements that were there.  Again, stunning.  Really really pretty. And A LOT of flowers! Mom was sending them home with anyone who would take them!

The table centrepieces were a whole other story. They were the beautiful work of a new friend of my parents.  Again, I was a little nervous because I really didn’t know what I wanted. I became almost completely overwhelmed when we went flower depot shopping but they ended up being another wonderful example of “trust the experts” – absolutely gorgeous.  For the centrepieces I wanted to make sure that the people I wanted to take them home got them, so I included a note on the back of selected place cards with a special thank you for all of their help and support asking them to please accept the centrepiece as a small token of our appreciation.   For the most part it worked, I think… but I know there were a few people that were supposed to get one that didn’t – sneaky non rule following guests!

The biggest pro of the centrepieces? They lasted.  Jan told us they would. She made the trek to the flower depots and picked up flowers as fresh as they could possibly be.

I loved that.

Leave a Reply

