You Can Dance if You Want To

I knew what song the Boy and I would dance to at our wedding for years.  YEARS I tell you.

Dave Matthews Band – Stand Up album came out the summer my beautiful sista got sick. I listened to that album that summer and belted it out as I drove to visit the Boy on weekends in London. Just read the lyrics and you’ll know why I fell in love with it.

I walk half way around the world,
Just to sit down by your side.
And I would do most anything girl,
To be the apple of your eye.

Troubles they may come and go,
But good times they are the gold.
And if this road gets rocky girl,
Just steady as we go.

Any place you wanna go,
Know I’ll be next to you.
If it’s treasure baby you’re looking for,
I’ll search the whole world through.

Know troubles they may come and go,
But good times they’re the gold.
So if the road gets rocky girl,
Just steady as we go.

When the storm comes,
You shelter me.
And I don’t say a word,
And you know exactly what I mean.
In the darkest times,
You shine on me.
You set me free.
And keep me steady as we go.

So if your heart rings dry my love,
I will fill your cup.
And if your load gets heavy girl,
I will lift you up.

Troubles they may come and go,
But good times be the gold.
So if this road gets rocky girl,
Just steady as we go.

Ah
Hold me,
Shine on me.
Oh, shine, shine,
Shine on me.
Shine, shine
Yeah shine on me.
Hey shine.

Beautiful. Like I said – Decision made.

And then we went ahead wedding planning and The Boy was wonderful, basically he supported any decision I made. He gave input when asked. He took charge when I needed him to. And most important when the load got heavy, he lifted me up.

And then he offered an opinion.

About 2 weeks before W-day, we were driving home from London and my wedding mix was playing and a little country tune came off the iPod and into the Boy’s ears. And heart apparently.

And suddenly, he had an opinion.

Boy – “I really like this song.*” (* The Boy rarely pays attention to what is on the radio and only has strong feelings about songs by The Tragically Hip)

Me – “Yeah, me too.”

Boy – “It makes me think of us.*” (* It is even rarer for The Boy to actually attend to a song long enough to have thoughts about the lyrics)

Me – “Yeah, I know that’s why I like it too.”

Boy – “Have we chosen a first dance song?”

Me – silence* (*And in my head – “oh crap”)

Here are the lyrics if you’re not inclined or unable to YouTube

Brad Paisley – Then

I remember, trying not to stare the night that I first met you
You had me mezmorized
And three weeks later, in the front porch light
taking forty-five minutes to kiss goodnight
I hadn’t told you yet
but I thought I loved you then

And now you’re my whole life
now you’re my whole world
I just can’t believe the way I feel about you, girl
Like a river meets the sea,
stronger than it’s ever been.
We’ve come so far since that day
And I thought I loved you then

And i remember, taking you back to right where I first met you,
You were so surprised
There were people around, but I didn’t care
Got down on one knee right there once again,
I thought I loved you then

And now you’re my whole life
now you’re my whole world
I just can’t believe the way I feel about you, girl
Like a river meets the sea,
stronger than it’s ever been.
We’ve come so far since that day
And I thought I loved you then

I could just see you, with a baby on the way
And I could just see you, when your hair is turning gray
What I can’t see is how I’m ever gonna love you more
But I’ve said that before

And now you’re my whole life
now you’re my whole world
I just can’t believe the way I feel about you, girl
We’ll look back someday, at this moment that we’re in
And I’ll look at you and say
And I thought I loved you then
And I thought I loved you then

Sigh.  I still wasn’t convinced.  I ran it by a friend of mine – her question, “Will you feel like the day was missing something if you don’t dance to the song you always thought you would?”

I didn’t know the answer.

I ran it by Sista “Well, since you didn’t take dance lessons – an easy country song might be easier to dance too”

Good point.

I asked my mom. Mom always knows what to do. “Meaghan, The Boy hasn’t asked for much. They are both beautiful, and they both speak to the two of you.  But if you do The Boy’s choice, then your first song reflects his feelings and your last song reflects yours.”

Brilliant.  I knew Mom would know what to do.

So after years of envisioning our first dance one way – it was turned on its head.  And it was awesome.

Bride recommendation – Listen to your Boy’s suggestions, they may be few and far between but when they come they’re probably important.

And make time for dance lessons. 😛

What was your first dance song? Did you choose or your Boy? What went into your decision?

The lovely photo is another from Cross Hatched Productions. And one of my favourites!

4 responses

  1. Oh how I love your song choices! Music is a big part of my life and I love it when songs take me back to a certain place and time. Our first dance song was Ribbon in the Sky by Stevie Wonder. Found you on SITS.

  2. There will be no first dance for us! I want MJ,or ‘Wild Horses’ but my man says NO! If I can’t have my way, then there is no first dance for us! Which… he didn’t argue with. 🙂

    • Well the nice part is you can still pick one that you know in your here s your first dance. Just play it later on and trick hi. Into dancing with you and you’re set!

Leave a Reply

