Touring the County of Prince Edward

Almost a couple of weeks ago The Boy and I packed up our car, our fancy clothes and our dancing shoes and headed East to Prince Edward County. Two lovely and wonderful friends of ours were getting married and we could not and would not have missed it.

One of the sweet perks of my new job is I have the option for a compressed work week – which just means that I get a free Friday every 3 weeks and I worked it out with my boss that I could take my freebie the day before the w-day.  The Boy and I spent a much needed day together touring wine country and tasting lots of new wines.  It was delightful but we learned a couple of things worth passing on.

  1. When you go wine touring on a Friday expect to be the only people in the winery.
  2. When you find you are the only people in the winery – expect to learn an awful lot about wine, since the lovely winemakers have your undivided attention.
  3. Wine tasting typically costs $1/person or per glass – depending on the place.
  4. Wine tasting is typically free if you buy a bottle
  5. If you are the type of people that feel really awkward occupying the winemakers at a small winery and only giving them $1 for their time… do not go wine tasting on a Friday.
  6. If #5 applies to you and you choose to ignore the recommendation to pick a busier day – it is likely you will find you suddenly have a trunk full of wine.

Good thing the wine rack was pretty much empty before we left – we came home with 8 bottles of wine, representing the 7 wineries we visited.

No matter, they were all delightful and we had way more fun than we would have in the liquor store.

But seriously folks, Prince Edward County (or “The County” as it is referred to in the area) was super fun – we give it 4 thumbs up!

More on the actual wedding tomorrow – but for now I’ll leave you with my PicMonkey skills of our pre-wedding golf game.

This was not the game I shot 109 on – yes, I’m still reveling in the 109ness of it all.

No, this was a different game – it did not go as well for me, but it was a beauty course and a lot of fun.

The highlights belonged to The Boy (above) and our friend Josh (below).All in all a great weekend get-away.

But really, we’ve only just begun…

 

Leave a Reply

