Rustic and Romantic County Wedding

The Boy and I spent the weekend in Prince Edward County a couple of weeks ago , and while it was a great way to spend some time together we never would have discovered this new little wine county were it not for our lovely friends Andrew and Charlsie. The Boy played volleyball in university with Andrew and thankfully Andrew brought Charlsie into our lives!

Their wedding was held at a big red barn near Bloomfield Ontario and just like this beautiful couple – it was a stunner! The Boy and I discussedon the day and since I think one of my favorite parts about a wedding is how each couple is able to create a day that is perfect and reflective of them. The Boy and I wanted a great party with all the people we loved in one room. A Catholic wedding was important to me and by default important to him. We wanted to make sure that everyone had a great time and knew how much we loved and appreciated that they were there. So that’s what we kept in mind all the way throughout the planning process. It was perfect for us.

Andrew and Charlsie’s wedding was equally as perfect for them. They wanted to keep it small and simple. They are environmentally conscious people, both country kids, love their families, their friends and each other. All of it was reflected in their day. And it was perfect for them.

Highlights for The Boy and I:

1. We took a minute to give each other a knowing smile while this beautiful couple said their vows – a welcome opportunity to renew our own vows in our heads.

2. We also loved the opportunity to catch up with some great friends – something you don’t really have the opportunity to do at your own wedding.

3. We brought the camera and while we both took about a million photos I edited it down to a few of our favorites.

Finally, a wedding tip. Keep track of the couple – or if you are the couple assign someone to keep track of you. Remembering back on our own wedding day, The Boy and I danced together a few times first, half a dance in the middle and our last dance. We were both trying to talk to as many people as possible (my policy was if you want to talk to me come and dance) and between the two of us we covered pretty much everyone. By the end of the night when we got back to our hotel room we turned to each other and said “so how was your day?!” It was fine, but I noticed that Andrew and Charlsie hadn’t so much as checked in with each other since their first dance. So I arranged for a check in for them.

It was appreciated by the couple and I think one of my favorite pictures we took.

Congratulations to a truly beautiful couple, we were so happy to be part of your day and look forward to many more celebrations together!

PS Charls, I know you’re a little sad about moving a little further west – but we’re thrilled! Hoping we can see much more of you guys this winter! XOXO

3 responses

  1. Dear Meaghan! Thank-you so much for this:) It meant a lot to have the both of you there. Like I mentioned before–thank-you for creating one of our “top five” moments of our night by making sure we had a dance together:)
    I am looking forward to seeing you more this winter!
    Love
    Charlsie

  2. These wedding pictures are absolutely gorgeous! I love the venue but I love the dress even more! Can anyone tell me who the dress designer was? It would be greatly appreciated!
    Thank you! Again, beautiful wedding and beautiful photography!
    -Angela

  3. Thanks for your marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you can be
    a great author. I will make sure to bookmark your blog and definitely will
    come back in the foreseeable future. I want to encourage
    that you continue your great job, have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

