Farewell old friend

There’s been a death in the family.  We I knew it was coming.  Others were in more denial.  I thought she would last until we moved.  Others were apparently convinced she would live forever.

Alas, everything has it’s season.  And nothing can live forever.

The Red Rocket has passed.

The Boy is really sad.  (I don’t really know why, since he barely drove it the last 2 years and being a one car family has very little impact on him).  It might be because he returned his plates today.  The plates he’s had since his first car when he was 18 (also a red boat-like car). Maybe it’s because the car was his Grandpa’s and while his Grandpa is still alive and well – his daily reminder of Grandpa’s generosity has moved on to the scrap yard.  Maybe it’s because it was him who finally blew it up – not his fault, but I’m glad it wasn’t me who had just turned the car on when it went BANG and died. Maybe it’s because he really wanted it to make it to 250,000 km – I think it had about 247,000. Maybe it’s because the scrap yard only gave him  $250 and he’s finally realized that we’ve poured good money after bad into that car for far too long.

Maybe it’s just a Boy thing – Boys and cars? That’s a thing right?

Maybe it’s none of those things.  It doesn’t really matter – none of those reasons are going to bring her back.

She’s dead.  Good and dead. I saw the engine.  There were pieces visibly broken, things that had clearly exploded when he turned the key that last time.

They said they could fix the broken cover for $500, but after that they would do a diagnostic on the engine and it may require rebuilding the engine depending on how much damage was done in the BANG.  The Boy said, “No thanks.”  The mechanic said “Good decision.”

Good decision is right.

So we’re a one car family for now. The plan is to move,  get settled, and then go car shopping.  Nothing like doing everything all at once, right?!

Bank Gods and Car Gods I tell you.

What are you gonna do?

Clean out the trunk and move on.

 

2 responses

  1. Oh my gosh… I would totally cry if that was my car. You tell your boy that I feel for him. I once had to have my car towed and cried the whole time the tow truck was there. The car survived the incident… but my dignity certainly didn’t.

Leave a Reply

