Vegas Baby

I know.  I promised this yesterday. But instead of uploading photos I decided to cuddle a puppy instead.  Sorry.  It was Gordon’s fault.  Alas, earwax. Better late than never – here it is. My recap of Vegas that I wrote in the airport right before I nearly died on the plane. Enjoy.

___________________

Well I made it. It was close but I made it. BFF Kate’s birth was properly celebrated. We saw the sites. We made some friends. Some of us got to know those friends better than others – but of course that’s all I can say because what happens in Vegas – you know the rest.

My review? I’m really glad I was able to go. Some of my predictions came true – I am returning with a really nice head cold some kind of crazy desert disease that nearly killed me. But others didn’t – Vegas has a place for everyone, including introverted ginger knitters.

Overall I have to say that Las Vegas is a really strange city. I can see the appeal I guess, there is potential for great food, really fun shows, and it’s pretty friendly to anyone’s budget. The draw to come back again and again? I don’t really get that. The Boy hasn’t been, so I can see us making the trip again eventually – unless there’s a boy that actually follows through on their bachelor party plans. But if/when I come back again I would do things a little differently. Specifically, more day trips. Hoover Damn and the Grand Canyon would be tops on my list, there’s only so many souvenir stores one can go into and the lime light of Vegas only really starts after dark. So why not get out of the city during the day and take in the city life at night. Sounds like a plan to me.

That’s not to say I didn’t have fun, some highlights:

Red Rock Canyon Conservation Centre. I think this tops my list, we drove out and went for a hike. The escarpment is beautiful and as I said it was nice to get out of the city – a definite must see.

Zumanity. My first Cirque du Soleil show and it was full of “sexy naked people” it was really impressive and a lot of fun. If you’re going to the city definitely see at least 1 show. And if you’d like to be invited into a orge, or eat a banana from a man’s crotch – sit in the front row! My favorite part was the middle-aged married people who were all touchy with each other after the show as they shyly checked out corsettes and massage oil in the gift shop afterward.

Free drinks. I couldn’t tell you what a drink in a night club costs, because none of us paid for one. Wine with dinner – sure. What Vegas must cost a group of boys is mind-blowing to me, being a girl rocks.

The gluttony. From huge over the top hotels, 4 floors of M&Ms parafenalia, statues of liberty made entirely of jellybeans, and lots of really fake boobs, Vegas truly has it all. You really need to shut off your sustainability brain and give into it or it will drive you crazy. It’s ridiculous – adults Disney Land. And it must be embraced for the short time you are there, but seriously Vegas would it kill you to throw a recycling bin into the mix?

One thing I really didn’t do? Gamble. For a couple of reasons, first and foremost I’m not a winner. I don’t win things. I don’t assume I’ll win, I never do. So the idea of giving someone my money to see if I’ll win seems silly to me. Why don’t I just take that money and buy a pair of shoes. Then I’m gaurenteed to win. I’ve won a pair of shoes. The second reason is the smoke. You can smoke absolutely anywhere with the exception of the elevator and the airport. And it is gross. It hurts my lungs and my eyes and I have absolutely no desire to hang out in a smokey room and give someone money for the thrill of being there. I had intentions of giving Black Jack a try or maybe even Craps, but I couldn’t do it. I put in $1 in a penny slot machine. I got up to $2.10 but played until I lost it. It was not that fun. And it hurt my lungs.

So that’s it. I did some power shopping – got the Boy some new clothes and a few things for me too. But by the time Sunday came it was time to go home to my new house and my new bed and The Boy.

Happy Burthday Kate – hope you had a great trip! XOXO

 

Leave a Reply

