Foreshadowing

An update on the cutest puppy you’ve ever seen? She’s great. Still cute.  Cries less. Loves her bed.  Still not a big fan of being left in the crate.  Slept through the night Friday and Saturday night – woke up once Sunday and up early Monday morning – of course. But since then she’s been sleeping through the night and minimal crying in the crate at bedtime – we’re such proud parents.

She’s very cuddley, when she’s not trying to eat your hair, your ear or generally biting your face.

FYI puppy teeth are SHARP!

People say that a puppy is good practice for a baby. I don’t really know who these people are – but I’ve been told, “people say it.”  Being a new puppy parent, I can say there might be some truth to that, but don’t think it’s really practice so much as foreshadowing.

The Boy is VERY fond of Gordon. He’s very protective of her, worries she’s going to fall off the couch and hurt herself.  Tells me frequently where she is in proximity to my feet so I don’t step on her.  When I do catch her while I’m walking and she goes sliding across the floor he says “you have to be careful! She likes to stay right with you!”

 

He says she likes me better – not necessarily true, but there is one difference between us.  I get up with her and the Boy does not.

Actual conversation after night 2 with puppy.

The Boy – I’m not a morning person

Me – I know.

The Boy – I don’t know how you do it

Me – What?

The Boy – get up with her at 4:30 and 5 in the morning.

Me – She needs to go out. And I don’t want my day to start at 4:30 while I listen to her cry for 2 hours, so I get up let her out play with her and then we have a nap for another hour or so.

The Boy – I know.  I can’t do it. I’m sorry, but I can’t get out of bed and get up with her.

Me – I’ve noticed.  I’m sensing some foreshadowing here.

The Boy – Are you? Good.  Me too – at least you won’t be surprised.

Here’s the thing about puppies, they’re pretty much sleeping through the night by about day 4. Maybe getting up once until Day 10. That is a small but significant difference between dog babies and human babies. I informed The Boy that while I am fine with getting up with our furry little puppy-child this should in no way be taken as solidifying our roles once we have little humans to take care of.  Babies do not sleep through the night by day 10.  And while I can handle a few days of sleepiness while we get our puppy acquainted with her new home – I am by no means prepared to take the night shift entirely by myself for any humans that may come our way. No dice my friend.

So while I don’t think that looking after a puppy is the same as looking after a baby – the saying is not without some truth.  We’re getting an idea of what battles may lie ahead – and since they also say to pick your battles – I guess Gordon is helping us man our  stations. 

2 responses

  1. Oh boy! Our baby human is nearing 9 months old, and we had a VERY similar conversation as this just last night. Advice for any nighttime care of a little one: get both parents involved from the start. Otherwise the tiny gets used to one and freaks out when the other finally volunteers to take a turn, thus creating a convenient excuse to never volunteer again. *sigh*

  2. I completely agree with Julie. Even though our baby breastfed, she took one bottle a day from the beginning so I wasn’t the only person able to feed her. If you don’t do this from the start, they’ll often reject bottles and then you’re the only form of nourishment for them for six long months. Gah.
    We can’t wait to meet Gordon! She’s so cuddly. So. Cuddly.

Leave a Reply

