Happy New Year

It’s that time of year again – new year, new resolve. I’ve been thinking about the start of 2013 for a while now, what habits I’d like to bring back in my life or do without. And while generally I don’t think New Year’s resolutions are terribly successful, I think the change in the calendar does give us a fresh start to try again. So what if I only make it to February or March – that’s better than nothing right?

One way to make resolutions stick a bit better is to make them: 1. things you really want to do, 2. not too complicated, and 3. manageable. Of course there’s that whole SMART thing, but that goes against my own rule #2 – lets keep it simple.

So for 2013, I’ve got 2 simple goals.

1. Meal plan. “What do you want for dinner is an all too common question in our house. I’m thinking if I can get back to having a list of meals for the week, the part I don’t like about making dinner will be limited to once per week. Pinterest is helping me on this one, with some great organizational tips, some simple enough they just might work.

2. Back to Blogging. I really miss my blog, and according to lots of the people I saw over the holidays, I’m not alone on that one. So, back to blogging it is. I’m not really sure why I stopped, I guess I just needed a break. But now, I’m settled in my job, the puppy is less demanding, we’re homeowners and we’re busy little bees making our house a home, and I’m determined to knit more and watch less tv. To me, all of these together equal a good recipe for getting back to a little hobby I really do enjoy.

So that’s it. No health goals – I’m healthy, and I’m still gymming it up. Blog, and food. Hopefully one can help add fodder for the other!

Any other resolutions out there? How long do you expect you’ll make it?

One response

  1. Those are excellent goals. I miss your blog too (I even checked to make sure I wasn’t missing updates). The meal plan thing is SUCH a good idea. I started that a few months ago because I was sick of always wondering what to make for dinner and making multiple trips to the grocery store per week to pick up this and that. It’s been awesome.
    Happy New Year and sorry I missed you three when you stopped by!

Leave a Reply

